What's a good way to learn drumming online?

Markery

So, I've been drumming completely un-taught for like 5 years (I'm 16 now) since I got my first set. I posted another thread where everyone instructed me to get lessons. Problem is there's really no one that offers lessons around here, and I don't have the money, nor do my parents.

So I want to learn online, and I like Drumlessons.com/Freedrumlessons.com but I don't know where to start. I mean, I'm kind of stuck on a certain beat and I always end up playing it, same will fills. So my skill set is very narrow, and it seems like I'm REALLY stuck on that beat, as I've played it for a long time. And I don't really know the names for anything, so that's a problem. I feel like I've missed some of the fundamental factors that go into being a well rounded drummer. But it's gonna really suck having to go through the basics.

What do you suggest?

can you read notation at all? (even a basic snare drum line?) if not then there is no time like the present.

save up a bit and get a book called stick control. it will be a great purchase, years of enjoyment!

p.s. what brownie said is wonderful advice! just make sure you start slow. with a metronome if possible.

Marrkery, okay so you can't afford lessons.

I agree with what others say about reading to learn new beats and online tutors to help you sort out your grip and strokes.

If you've learned by playing along with music then it helps to play with a wide variety of music - rock, pop, jazz, metal, fusion, blues, soul, RnB, funk, prog, Afro, Latin ...

In the end, the whole aim of the game for most of us is just to learn songs - lots and lots of songs - and keep improving our interpretation and ability to make other musicians feel comfortable playing.