New perspectives

Duck Tape

Platinum Member
Lately it feels like everything I know about playing drums is assumed knowledge, like I've only just begun - It strikes me as some sort of milestone of experience. There is no longer much that's mystifying about the pop rock beat, fills, song structures - playing drums seems to be more of a technique and timing challenge than the wonderland of rhythmic possibilities it used to be.

I am just an average drummer but I have been playing long enough to know what's what. I wonder if this is the platform for the next stage in development or early onset of boredom.

Lately it feels like everything I know about playing drums is assumed knowledge, like I've only just begun - It strikes me as some sort of milestone of experience. There is no longer much that's mystifying about the pop rock beat, fills, song structures - playing drums seems to be more of a technique and timing challenge than the wonderland of rhythmic possibilities it used to be.

I am just an average drummer but I have been playing long enough to know what's what. I wonder if this is the platform for the next stage in development or early onset of boredom.
you've hit a note with me here. I feel the same to some extent, but there's a ton more I can shoot for within my very limited musical field of competence.

I've been lucky enough to experience working alongside a range of players recently, & although they're mostly in very different genres, there's much that's transportable into my world. The inspiration side is also helped because they're way better players than me too.

I'm guessing my long time away from playing put me behind the curve compared to you, so maybe I'm "smelling" your outlook looming, rather than being at that point myself.

You're thinking about it wrong.

Now that you have a good knowledge foundation and understand the majority of the base concepts, you have a much broader palate with which to paint in all your rhythmic possibilities.