Can A Metal Drummer Play A Pop Song Well?

Hey everyone! It's been a bit since i've posted, but I wanted your guys' thoughts on this.

I'm a metal drummer, so i'm used to playing a 10000000 notes all the time. I tried my hand at playing to a pop song, and well I kind of impressed myself. I still feel like I over played a little, but I surprisingly had fun playing this.

https://youtu.be/MTh1VB7frlU

Of course a metal drummer can play a pop song, but there will be repercussions.

All the other metal musicians will laugh at you! ;-)

They can if they work on stuff besides hitting their bass drum really fast. Unfortunately, I've met lots of "metal" drummers who spend almost all their time on that and don't really worry about other styles or techniques (except the weird "blast beat" obsession).

If you're overplaying because you're used to other genres, then you should look at that some more. You should always serve the song, and not play anything extra out of habit. That goes for "metal" too. I think if people used space more effectively, I might get into some of those styles more.

No, a metal drummer can not play a pop song. You just violated one of the supreme laws of drumming. And you had fun doing it which tacks on several other violations of the drumming code of ethics.

Well done. But don't do it again.

No, a metal drummer can not play a pop song. You just violated one of the supreme laws of drumming. And you had fun doing it which tacks on several other violations of the drumming code of ethics.

Well done. But don't do it again.

Yessa massa... haha
Good thing I didn't stop reading after the first paragraph! :0

They can if they work on stuff besides hitting their bass drum really fast. Unfortunately, I've met lots of "metal" drummers who spend almost all their time on that and don't really worry about other styles or techniques (except the weird "blast beat" obsession).