DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-12-2012, 06:18 AM
Dre25's Avatar
Dre25 Dre25 is online now
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,071
Default Recording question

Hey guys,

I've got an mbox and pro-tools, which only allows me to use 2 microphones. I can get a pretty decent sound just using 2 but if I wanted to mic my whole kit + guitar/bass amps would I be able to run a mixer into one of the mbox inputs or do I have to start fresh and overhaul my whole system?

If option A is good, could you please recommend a mixer?

I currently have 2 sm57's and an audix d6 kick mic, any mic recommendations would be cool.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhoIsTony? View Post
please do not take this advice for it is among the worst given
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-12-2012, 09:48 AM
Bo Eder's Avatar
Bo Eder Bo Eder is online now
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 10,843
Default Re: Recording question

If you don't mind mixing everything live down to stereo to record the two tracks into your computer that way, then any mixer would do with enough inputs. But like a live mix, that's the sound you'll have when it gets to the computer. You couldn't affect each individual instrument.

What you need are more inputs. PreSonus, Tascam, and MOTU (among others I think) all make USB interfaces that give you more inputs. I had the PreSonus Firepod that gave me 8 xlr mic inputs, which translated to being able to track 8 inputs at once into my Macintosh. It sounds like you have the software, you just need a new interface to be able to record more tracks at once. Be aware though, now you'll need alot of RAM and a fairly quick processor and a fast hard drive too (7200 RPM would do the trick). When I first did this with the FirePod a few years ago, sometimes my then-new PowerMac G5 dual processor tower couldn't process stuff fast enough, so doing real-time things like EQ or effects while tracking was a real drag.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-2012, 02:17 PM
Dre25's Avatar
Dre25 Dre25 is online now
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,071
Default Re: Recording question

Thanks Bo.

I'm not really in a position to upgrade my PC but I'll check out those mixers you suggested. But do you think that if I can set the levels/EQ well enough using the mixer before they reach protools it will still sound okay?

I'm happy with GOOD, doesn't have to be GREAT.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhoIsTony? View Post
please do not take this advice for it is among the worst given
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2012, 06:46 PM
Bo Eder's Avatar
Bo Eder Bo Eder is online now
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 10,843
Default Re: Recording question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dre25 View Post
Thanks Bo.

I'm not really in a position to upgrade my PC but I'll check out those mixers you suggested. But do you think that if I can set the levels/EQ well enough using the mixer before they reach protools it will still sound okay?

I'm happy with GOOD, doesn't have to be GREAT.
Sure you can do that. If you like what's coming out of the board, you're good. I'm just saying you'll have no control over individual instruments, unless you want to track each one separately.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com