DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-26-2010, 04:35 AM
NC68 NC68 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Triangle - NC
Posts: 252
Default Snare Rim Click on roland V-Drums (TD10)

I have the Roland TD10 with the expansion card and the snare drum is a PD-120. The problem I am having is that I can't seem to figure out how to get the snare to produce a rim click, (holding the stick to the surface of the head while hitting the rim with the taper of the stick to produce a wood block sort of sound). The triggers are correctly configured and I can dial up a factory set and have the rim click sound produced just fine but when I try it with another defined kit it does not produce the click but rather whatever instrument is assigned to the rim itself, (usually the corresponding rim sound for the snare drum). I examined the setup for the snare on the kit where the click works and can't seem to see anything special about it. Additionally, when I assign the exact same snare and rim sounds or instrument numbers that are used on the working kit's snare to the kit I want it to work on it still does not produce the click sound. The manual offers no help.

Does anyone know what the problem may be?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2010, 12:56 PM
thtst's Avatar
thtst thtst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 173
Default Re: Snare Rim Click on roland V-Drums (TD10)

Had the same problem and the solution for me was to LIGHTLY hit only the rim near the mounting bracket (or the mounting bracket itself. In other words, do not bother trying to hit the head or rest the stick on the head like a normal click, just strike the rim LIGHTLY.
__________________
Enjoy the Music,

Steven
www.THTST.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2010, 04:38 PM
MikeN's Avatar
MikeN MikeN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Evart, Michigan
Posts: 42
Default Re: Snare Rim Click on roland V-Drums (TD10)

Make sure the snare you have selected has "XS" with it. It stands for cross stick, and unless you have an option to use it with that snare, you"ll never get the sound you want. I hope this helps.
__________________
Yamaha Maple Custom Absolute
Zildjian A & K Customs
Zildjian K Constantinople 22' Medium Ride
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2011, 04:29 PM
smnye's Avatar
smnye smnye is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio area
Posts: 1
Default Re: Snare Rim Click on roland V-Drums (TD10)

I've noticed that the stick must be on the rim at both ends to get the XS sound. If you want to look traditional you may want to try that or just lightley hit the rim like it was suggested by another.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-28-2011, 05:45 AM
rmandelbaum's Avatar
rmandelbaum rmandelbaum is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,042
Default Re: Snare Rim Click on roland V-Drums (TD10)

amynw is correct, you can't have the stick o the head, rest on side on the rim.
__________________
DW Collectors
Vintage Superstars
Roland TD-20
Misc. Snares
My Web Site
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2011, 10:16 PM
Cruiser Cruiser is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Default Re: Snare Rim Click on roland V-Drums (TD10)

go to setup > triggers > bank > if you're on trigger bank 1, trigger #2 (snare) needs to be set to 12A, not 12B. That fixed it for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com