DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-27-2011, 05:10 PM
ssdaven's Avatar
ssdaven ssdaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 62
Default Recording Roland V-Drums.

Hey all,

I'll keep this simple and to the point.. I've been playing on a Roland TD4KX (the one with all mesh heads) for 4 months now and I'm enjoying it quite a bit. What I'd like to do, is to record the tracks I'm playing in file format on my PC (I'm not too concerned about the format for now). While the quick record feature on the kit module is nice, I need to be able to get the sound off of the module and into a file format on my computer.

Keeping in mind I'm quite ignorant to how MIDI works (or what it is, really) - can any one point me to a web page / source of information where I can learn how to record my V-Drums? Some of the questions I have specifically would be:

-The drum module has a headphone port, and MIDI out (I think it's out?). Which of these can be used for recording? Which should be used?

-Based on the answer to the question above, what kind of cable would I need to hook the drum module to the sound card on my PC?

-Based on the above answer, I suppose I may or may not need a new sound card (depends on the type of cable).

-Once I've got the "physical layer" addressed, what software can I use to record with?

I know this is asking a lot! Any direction to existing resources would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2011, 04:21 AM
THC's Avatar
THC THC is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 401
Default Re: Recording Roland V-Drums.

I have a similar kit, and oddly enough, similar questions. Thanks for asking.

I will also be patiently waiting for answers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2011, 04:52 AM
Pimento Pimento is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 453
Default Re: Recording Roldand V-Drums.

I use a 1/4-1/8 adapter, and run a 1/8 male-male plug form my headphone port to my imac and use garage band for the recording. IT actually works quite well, even allows me to put songs or other riffs over top of it.

The only down side is that the drums are all one track and cannot be changed individually.

All in all the setup cost me about $4.00 CDN.

EDIT: forgot to say that i use a roland TD-9 Drum kit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2011, 05:02 AM
bamdrummer's Avatar
bamdrummer bamdrummer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 247
Default Re: Recording Roldand V-Drums.

Do you have a mac or a pc? If you have a mac, its perfectly fine (and incredibly easy) to do what pimento does. In fact i recommend it for its simplicity. If you have a pc, it's likely you could do something similar using a 1/4" to 1/8" adapter and running it into your line in port (assuming you have one, most pc's do) but then you'll need a DAW (Digital audio workstation) program or other recording application. One i've heard a lot of talk about is sony's "Acid" program. Acid Xpress is available for free download on this website: http://www.acidplanet.com/downloads/xpress/
hope that helps and write back if you have any questions!
(also if any pc users out there have a better suggestion for the program, please post it, acid was just the first thing that came to mind)
__________________
RLRRLRR LRLLRLL-behold, the paradiddle-a-diddle!

Last edited by bamdrummer; 01-28-2011 at 05:04 AM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2011, 06:56 PM
ssdaven's Avatar
ssdaven ssdaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 62
Default Re: Recording Roldand V-Drums.

Thanks very much for the helpful replies Pimento, bamdrummer.

I am indeed a Windows user. I'm farily confident that my PC will have line out, as it's a newly built machine with a motherboard using the corei7 socket. I'm really glad to hear it's this simple to record from the V-Drums.

To add further discussion to the topic; if anyone who's done this (Pimento?) cares to provide a quick overview of what needs to be done within the DAW you use (Digital Audio Workstation - in Pimento's case, Garage Band) to actually access the drum track, that would be great! I'm sure when I go out and get my cable, install my DAW and connect the V-Drums and PC, I'll have no idea what to do..I assume the software will likely have a menu to detect the drums?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2011, 08:27 PM
Pimento Pimento is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 453
Default Re: Recording Roldand V-Drums.

I use Sony Acid on my laptop with my E-drums, just plug it into your mic/line port, most programs will allow you to select line in or mic devices.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2011, 05:21 AM
Up2Speed's Avatar
Up2Speed Up2Speed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 153
Default Re: Recording Roldand V-Drums.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pimento View Post
I use Sony Acid on my laptop with my E-drums, just plug it into your mic/line port, most programs will allow you to select line in or mic devices.


Do you plug into the headphone jack or the line out mono jack on the Roland?
__________________
6 Piece Drum Workshop in Ruby Glass
Pearl Demon Chain
Zildjian & Sabian
RocNSoc
Roland TD9SX
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2011, 05:30 AM
Hercules's Avatar
Hercules Hercules is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 341
Default Re: Recording Roldand V-Drums.

Keeping in mind I'm quite ignorant to how MIDI works (or what it is, really) - can any one point me to a web page / source of information where I can learn how to record my V-Drums? Some of the questions I have specifically would be:

http://www.tweakheadz.com/guide.htm


-The drum module has a headphone port, and MIDI out (I think it's out?). Which of these can be used for recording? Which should be used?

Both, but the TD-4 should also have L/R output jacks and these are better to use.

-Based on the answer to the question above, what kind of cable would I need to hook the drum module to the sound card on my PC?

Probably a splitter cable (TRS to 2 x TS) and a stepdown adaptor from 6.5mm (F) to 3.5mm (M)

-Based on the above answer, I suppose I may or may not need a new sound card (depends on the type of cable).

Your inbuilt soundcard will probably do 44.1KHz/24bit at best and 16 bit most likely. A better quality I/O device would cost you a couple of hundred at the most.

-Once I've got the "physical layer" addressed, what software can I use to record with?

Reaper - about $50 and fully featured.

I know this is asking a lot! Any direction to existing resources would be appreciated.[/quote]
__________________
www.studi01-oz.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-03-2011, 06:06 AM
IDDrummer's Avatar
IDDrummer IDDrummer is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: I-Dee-Ho
Posts: 3,304
Default Re: Recording Roldand V-Drums.

A free program you can use for recording on your PC is Audacity. You can download it at www.download.com. There is a search feature there, and you just type in "Audacity." It uses the existing sound card in your computer.

All you will need to BUY is a cable to connect the 1/4" mono "out" jack on your Roland to the 1/8" mic/line input on your computer (or a 1/8 to 1/8 with a 1/4 adapter).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-2013, 04:38 PM
smalltooledfool smalltooledfool is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Default Re: Recording Roldand V-Drums.

Hi Guys,

I used a 3.5 adapter for recording straight into the Mic jack on my laptop and then used audacity.

It worked easily...but everything had to be turned down and I had to use come convoluted speaker set to hear what I was playing live whilst audacity recorded.

The software would play back other tracks, but not what was being recorded.

Second problem was if sound was down; the contrast in tones etc was lost, but if turned up; distortion/static invaded sporadically.

Is there any suggestions to fixing these?

is fine for recording ideas quickly and very rough demos, but not for anything of decent quality.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-23-2013, 11:23 AM
Reggae_Mangle's Avatar
Reggae_Mangle Reggae_Mangle is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Away in India
Posts: 519
Default Re: Recording Roldand V-Drums.

smalltooledfool, the lack of any headroom with the line in input of consumer soundcards is what causes the distortion if you raise the volume too high. The signal being received is too hot and I don't think there's a work around other than lowering the output from the module as far as possible before feeding it into the PC, then routing the sound through powered speaker that can go to 11.

An investment in an audio interface will serve you well in the long run. Besides increased fidelity from your recordings, you will also witness less latency (ie delay between the time when you strike the drumpad, the signal is recorded and the sound is output from your speakers).

- Reggae Mangle
__________________
"... As war machine, crushes their balls, God have mercy..."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com