DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-02-2010, 02:31 PM
giffo giffo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sittingbourne, Kent, UK
Posts: 7
Default Looking at buying a metronome

Thinking of getting one for use as live click for intros only.
Will Yamaha Clickstation stop when footswitch plugged in and pressed.
Only need for song intros.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2010, 03:58 PM
Eman101's Avatar
Eman101 Eman101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cape Town, South AFrica
Posts: 90
Default Re: Looking at buying a metronome

Apparently (I speak under correction) the Yamaha Clickstation is discontinued, so you would need to buy a used one. I have no experience with it, so can't help there.

The Tama Rhythm Watch is very nice but quite pricey.

Personally, I downloaded a metronome for my PC, made 10-minute recordings of the tempo for each song my band plays, and stored them on my MP3 player. So I listen to the click before we start playing and then either leave it running or pop the headphone out my ear until the next song.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2010, 04:55 PM
giffo giffo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sittingbourne, Kent, UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: Looking at buying a metronome

Cgeers for the response.
I have tought of doing exactly what you do but feel that a quick push button start/stop gadget would be better.
I have looked at the Tama jobbie and would consider it but not sure if that has the function for the foot switch start/stop.
I'm sure the clickstation has more capacity to store set lists though.
I know I'll have to get a used one but that doesn't matter as it'll be cheaper than a new one.

Am also toying with using a touchscreen laptop or tablet such as the iPad with metronome app or something, could also use it to display lyrics and song structure.

? Anyone doing this ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2010, 06:17 PM
Shedboyxx's Avatar
Shedboyxx Shedboyxx is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 694
Default Re: Looking at buying a metronome

Here's a link for the Clickstation manual in different languages

http://free-pdf-ebook.com/2007/11/25...owners-manual/

I own the Clickstation, love it and lamented when Yamaha stopped making it. The manual does say that a trigger attached to the trigger input will do what you want (around the same page as Tap function). It doesn't mention a footswitch.

I use to own a Roland DDR-30 and with pads (back when Dinosaurs Ruled the Earth). I bought what was called a momentary switch to advance the patches on the DDR-30 brain. This was also used on many other Roland devices. I believe I even used it as a sustain pedal on a couple of synths. This probably would send the same type of signal to the Clickstation and therefore work the way you want it to.

I don't own a switch like that anymore so I can't test it. I usually mount my metronome off of my hihat with a mark tree accessory that screws into the back. Very accessible and works for me.

If you can find a used Clickstation in good condition, it's a great metronome. Not saying there aren't others that do what you want but it's one of the best I've owned.

Jim
__________________
"Time...to Unpimp......Ze Auto ....huuuuuh"

Jim Martin Music
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2010, 01:10 AM
Green_Shoes's Avatar
Green_Shoes Green_Shoes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 437
Default Re: Looking at buying a metronome

Quote:
Originally Posted by giffo View Post
Cgeers for the response.
I have tought of doing exactly what you do but feel that a quick push button start/stop gadget would be better.
I have looked at the Tama jobbie and would consider it but not sure if that has the function for the foot switch start/stop.
I'm sure the clickstation has more capacity to store set lists though.
I know I'll have to get a used one but that doesn't matter as it'll be cheaper than a new one.

Am also toying with using a touchscreen laptop or tablet such as the iPad with metronome app or something, could also use it to display lyrics and song structure.

? Anyone doing this ?
Use my iPhone with in the app store has a few decent metronomes going. Does the job, simple!
__________________
CHRISTIAN DRUMMERS ARMY
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2010, 08:56 PM
giffo giffo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sittingbourne, Kent, UK
Posts: 7
Default Re: Looking at buying a metronome

Just found the right one.......iPad with 'Tempo 2' app......brilliant
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com