DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-09-2009, 08:17 PM
Dean Talbot's Avatar
Dean Talbot Dean Talbot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Default Yamaha DTXtreme III recording question

Hi all

I have a DTXtreme Special. I play along to MP3 tracks (plugged into the "Aux/sample" port) and want to record what I play. Having looked through the manual it seems that you can only record if you play along to one of the 50 songs supplied, which I don't want to do.

Another problem is that I am a complete newb to electronic kits - I've finally accepted that acoustic is too loud for my neighbourhood - hence the change. So "midi" speak is a foreign language to me.

Can someone tell me whether this is possible, and if so how to go about it (in layman's terms:-)? Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2009, 05:29 AM
spides666's Avatar
spides666 spides666 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 283
Default Re: Yamaha DTXtreme III recording question

As far as I'm aware you can only record yourself on the module if it with the preset songs. Also I think you'll need RAM installed to do this.

I record on Pro Tools with my MBOX2 and my laptop and the quality is superb.
__________________
Tama Starclassic Bubinga ELITE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2009, 09:12 AM
Dean Talbot's Avatar
Dean Talbot Dean Talbot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Default Re: Yamaha DTXtreme III recording question

Thanks for the response. That was my understanding also. I was looking for an indication of what I would need (software/hardware) just to get my laptop recording output from the module.
__________________
Yamaha DTXtreme 3 Spec
Sabian 6&8 AAX splash
Meinl G/X 8/10 ElecStack & 8 bell
BigDog ProDouble
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2009, 02:56 AM
spides666's Avatar
spides666 spides666 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 283
Default Re: Yamaha DTXtreme III recording question

Well depends on your Budget..........I got Pro Tools 8 and MBOX2 for like $700 Aus and I have ot say just straight in on the DI and inputs 1 and 2 and if you take the time to get a good mix on the module it's pretty amazing quality.

I have recorded at top studios with top of the range kits and the Yamaha's sounds awesome, but I did some tinkering on the kits.

or get a USB audio interface and say Cubase, probably work out half the price of Pro tools and still do a great job.
__________________
Tama Starclassic Bubinga ELITE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2009, 09:07 AM
Dean Talbot's Avatar
Dean Talbot Dean Talbot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Default Re: Yamaha DTXtreme III recording question

Thanks mate. Just what I was after.
__________________
Yamaha DTXtreme 3 Spec
Sabian 6&8 AAX splash
Meinl G/X 8/10 ElecStack & 8 bell
BigDog ProDouble
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com