DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-21-2009, 12:36 AM
superstar93 superstar93 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waco, Texas
Posts: 45
Default Amps for triggers

What are some other good brands that make keyboard amps?......also, how many watts should I need if I am just playing in my garage or in a studio?...I want the bass drum and snare to be pretty loud
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2009, 01:12 AM
diosdude's Avatar
diosdude diosdude is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 951
Default Re: Amps for triggers

Without going all the way to a PA system, i'd go with this:
http://keyboards-midi.musiciansfrien...Amp?sku=480195

You need close to a 200 watt amp to hang with a guitarist with a half stack. You definitely want a speaker with at least a 15" driver if you're triggering the kick
__________________
I don't want to work, I just want to bang on the drums all day!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2009, 04:19 AM
superstar93 superstar93 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waco, Texas
Posts: 45
Default Re: Amps for triggers

Will this work......? http://www.guitarcenter.com/Behringe...19-i1173576.gc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2009, 03:38 AM
diosdude's Avatar
diosdude diosdude is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 951
Default Re: Amps for triggers

Quote:
Originally Posted by superstar93 View Post
Yeah. Just be sure to pay for an extended warranty. Behringer has some of the worst quality control in the biz.
__________________
I don't want to work, I just want to bang on the drums all day!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2009, 05:39 AM
superstar93 superstar93 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waco, Texas
Posts: 45
Default Re: Amps for triggers

Oh really?....I had no idea that Behringer was lower quality.....thanks for telling me...I almost bought it!!!...the main reason I was getting that one is because it was cheaper...should I not get this one?... I really dont have the cash for a Roland
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2009, 05:57 AM
Numberonefan Numberonefan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 290
Default Re: Amps for triggers

Consider a single active speaker. Yorkville, JBL etc similar specs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-22-2009, 06:05 AM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Amps for triggers

Quote:
Originally Posted by superstar93 View Post
Oh really?....I had no idea that Behringer was lower quality.....thanks for telling me...I almost bought it!!!...the main reason I was getting that one is because it was cheaper...should I not get this one?... I really dont have the cash for a Roland
Behringer are better than they used to be, but I still wouldn't. I've used their gear in a few situations (DI Boxes mainly) and their dedicated rack gear is OK, but the build quality has never been good. The EuroDesks I've always thought were rather suspect - especially the older ones, which really are shocking.

Behringer have made strives to improve their quality control in recent years (a new factory in China for instance, that actually IS good - there's a good blog somewhere of a magazine editor making a visit) but I wouldn't trust it for at least another few.

Their gear sounds good. It usually works, but it doesn't work as often as more established brands. I really would save up for a Roland if you could - they really DO make fantastic gear. I've been using a small Roland guitar amplifier for 3 1/2 years now and it's never once let me down. I'm not recommending it for this application, but just to demonstrate that I utterly trust Roland to deliver on quality, every single time.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2009, 05:27 AM
superstar93 superstar93 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waco, Texas
Posts: 45
Default Re: Amps for triggers

Would it be possible for me to use an external amp. Like something that you would use to hook up a monitor speaker, and then just use a 15 inch stage speaker or something...My brother is a DJ and said that he will give me his Pyle 2000 watt amp and JBL 15 inch speaker

Last edited by superstar93; 10-26-2009 at 01:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com