DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-11-2009, 07:47 PM
actional actional is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default Roland TD-20 quantize question

I am recording VDrums on a project in my home studio.
I have hooked up and can run the sequencer in the TD-20 module by sending a midi clock signal from my Korg D-1600 DAW and returning 6 lines back. Works just fine. But I'd like to leave a complete drum performance as a pattern on the sequencer so I may mess with instrument parameters later.
This requires a complete drum performance beginning to end.
Since you can't punch in and fix any tempo errors on the pattern ( only delete, copy, or insert measure ) I've tried guessing which quantize setting to use but never have any good results. It seems either to " NOT" correct or to over correct and mess things up.
The Korg doesn't have a quantize feature to play with afterwards. In fact, it's only MIDI function is as a clock Master.
Anybody doing anything similar to this? Any " go to ' settings on the quantize that seem to work best?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2009, 10:59 PM
Davo-London's Avatar
Davo-London Davo-London is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St Albans, I work in London
Posts: 1,376
Default Re: Roland TD-20 quantize question

Not sure I can help but i'll ask this. Why don't you record the performance as midi in Logic or Protools or whatever software you have - then you can correct it to your hearts content and then use the file in the sequencer or as a loop? I use a midi interface (Edirol UA EX25) and connect via USB into my MacBookPro.

Peace
Davo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2009, 11:10 PM
DrumEatDrum's Avatar
DrumEatDrum DrumEatDrum is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,849
Default Re: Roland TD-20 quantize question

I don't know anything about the Korg, but

When you quantize, you are altering the performance recorded, there is no such thing as a degree of quantize, you either do it, or don't.

Many quantize programs offer such options as "swing" and/or "randomize" to make the recording sound "less quantized" however, that is not lessening the degree of quantization of what you recorded, that is just further altering of what was recorded.

Much like the previous poster said, if you run this through a recording software program on a computer, then you have the options to change individual notes or sections, and/or quantize specific notes rather than the whole performance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com