DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-22-2009, 09:51 AM
nickyallenk nickyallenk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default ROLAND SPDS SAMPLING QUESTION

thanks. I was in standard mode and mono which was what suprised me. I didn't realize the memory was that limited though! I will no doubt be getting a few cards off Amazon and dumping some factory sounds. Especially since I bought it in order to program my Macbook with and to use my own sounds I create from Reason, Abelton Live, ect.

Last edited by nickyallenk; 03-22-2009 at 08:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2009, 11:09 AM
harryconway's Avatar
harryconway harryconway is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pasadena, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 9,181
Default Re: ROLAND SPDS SAMPLING QUESTION

Internal memory, is very limited. If you were sampling in stereo on the fine setting, you indeed probably ran out of space. Page 52 of the manual. I've known a few cats who dump all the factory sounds to extend their internal memory. I choose to go the other route, and bought enough 512 MB cards to last me a lifetime.
__________________
This seat does not recline as per Federal Aviation Regulation 121.310 (f)(3)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2009, 08:21 PM
nickyallenk nickyallenk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: ROLAND SPDS SAMPLING QUESTION

I picked up one of these Roland SPDS sampling controllers the other day. I love it but ran into a little dilema which makes me wonder...

I started to create new patches with my own sounds. Specifically, I sampled a slit drum I have sitting around that required 6 notes. I programmed it into the SPDS with no problem using a contact mic. However, I found some interesting glockenspiel sounds on a website and proceeded to sample those using the line function. For all this sampling I was in standard mode and mono. I was trying to program in an 8 note scale for the glock... I got about 4 notes in with no problem and on the 5th note... "MEMORY FULL!"

It didn't seem like the internal memory should fill up this fast especially after 10 pads worth of information. The samples were no more than 0.3 to 5 seconds long each. Just curious as to whether or not this is common. I'm guessing I'll have to get some memory cards. Anyone else ran into this or know maybe if I'm missing something here? Just didn't seem right to me after 10 sounds and 2 patches.

Last edited by nickyallenk; 03-22-2009 at 08:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com