DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Off Topic Lounge

Off Topic Lounge All Discussions Not Related To Drumming

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #41  
Old 02-19-2009, 03:15 AM
wloeb wloeb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 493
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Good call on the mac. It's very likely that the problem was your firewire chipset in the PC.
Presonus interfaces work best the the TI chipsets.

I used to use Garageband which is very easy to use but I simply could not figure out how to do some very simple things:

1) Invert the phase of one track (for bass drum and snare bottom)
2) Adjust the width of a stereo track

I'm now using cubase, which has a steep learning curve.

Wayne
__________________
My recording experiment:
http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=40247
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02-19-2009, 03:22 AM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by wloeb View Post
Good call on the mac. It's very likely that the problem was your firewire chipset in the PC.
Presonus interfaces work best the the TI chipsets.

I used to use Garageband which is very easy to use but I simply could not figure out how to do some very simple things:

1) Invert the phase of one track (for bass drum and snare bottom)
2) Adjust the width of a stereo track

I'm now using cubase, which has a steep learning curve.

Wayne
I don't even know at this point if the basic version of garage band will do that. It might be a feature if you upgrade for $79. (I life)

I will work with this until I find hard limits, then likely I will (as suggested) move up to logic 8.

The firewire chipset was likely sony, and really didn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 02-19-2009, 03:35 AM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

I had to stop for tonight:

I am downloading a couple gigs of updates, and the instrument loops for garage band.

I have decided to add a condenser mic under my octabans to pick up the depth.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-19-2009, 06:58 PM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by wloeb View Post
Good call on the mac. It's very likely that the problem was your firewire chipset in the PC.
Presonus interfaces work best the the TI chipsets.

I used to use Garageband which is very easy to use but I simply could not figure out how to do some very simple things:

1) Invert the phase of one track (for bass drum and snare bottom)
2) Adjust the width of a stereo track

I'm now using cubase, which has a steep learning curve.

Wayne
It donned on me in this process that my cubase install discs are also for mac. I would have to go through the registration/reinstall process again...not to mention the learning curve. That is a future option, but for now---I shall plumb the depths of garage band.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-19-2009, 08:04 PM
Wavelength's Avatar
Wavelength Wavelength is online now
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,071
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by trkdrmr View Post
It donned on me in this process that my cubase install discs are also for mac. I would have to go through the registration/reinstall process again...not to mention the learning curve. That is a future option, but for now---I shall plumb the depths of garage band.
I'd advice against Cubase. If you want a more powerful software, stick with Apple products, namely Logic Studio...
__________________
I play Kumu Drums. I also shoot videos.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 02-19-2009, 08:52 PM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wavelength View Post
I'd advice against Cubase. If you want a more powerful software, stick with Apple products, namely Logic Studio...
MFB did suggest that, and after the butt-pain cubase caused me for a couple weeks, "Logic" really would be my upgrade.

I want to keep my imac microsoft-product free.

I downloaded the garage band instrument plug ins to play with tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:19 PM
wloeb wloeb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 493
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by trkdrmr View Post
MFB did suggest that, and after the butt-pain cubase caused me for a couple weeks, "Logic" really would be my upgrade.

I want to keep my imac microsoft-product free.

I downloaded the garage band instrument plug ins to play with tonight.
Cubase is not a microsoft product.
__________________
My recording experiment:
http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=40247
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:20 PM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by wloeb View Post
Cubase is not a microsoft product.
I realize that. Logic appears to have been designed specifically for the mac. It doesn't seem to have been designed for the PC then ported to the mac.

Either way, I am looking into logic one day.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-20-2009, 05:20 AM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Recording notes:

I set my kick mic on a towel in the kick. I moved the mic stand so it's under the octabans for a future condenser mic.

The cymbals and drums all came out pretty good. The kick mic had to be reposition so it didn't get the secondary vibration from the resonant so prominently.

Also, I am adjusting things so that the click/slap of the front batter is minimized.

There is a lot of potential here, I just need to ensure what is recorded is a little closer to what I hear.

I fiddled with the rock bass loop (#4 edgy rock bass) but see that I am going to have to wear headphones so I can hear the metronome with it.

I'll probably end up rotating the whole table so I can see the imac display and the monitors are aimed at me.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 02-20-2009, 11:57 AM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by trkdrmr View Post
I realize that. Logic appears to have been designed specifically for the mac. It doesn't seem to have been designed for the PC then ported to the mac.

Either way, I am looking into logic one day.
It is made by Apple, so there is no port. When Emagic owned Logic there were PC versions, but that was back in 2002 when they were bought out. Logic is worth it and far more intuitive than Cubase (in my experience) and Pro Tools (arguably a more powerful audio editor, but hard to use, more expensive and not sure on the sequencer on the new version!). All that said make sure you find somewhere to try Logic out. Most Apple stores have an in-house Logic demonstrator. See if you can seek them out!
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 02-20-2009, 01:13 PM
Wavelength's Avatar
Wavelength Wavelength is online now
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,071
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mediocrefunkybeat View Post
Logic is worth it and far more intuitive than Cubase (in my experience) and Pro Tools (arguably a more powerful audio editor, but hard to use, more expensive and not sure on the sequencer on the new version!).
Not only that, but Logic doesn't seem to be particularily picky about the hardware you choose to use with it.
__________________
I play Kumu Drums. I also shoot videos.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 02-20-2009, 05:15 PM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Tonight my goal is to record and post my main snare drum sound. I will do that in "your playing" section.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 02-21-2009, 01:16 AM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Just got hold of a Line6 Toneport 8XU this afternoon (was hilarious on the train with the rest of my shopping from my Manchester day trip...!). Microphones and assorted paraphinalia will be sorted soon; so I'll let you know how Logic does with my new rig!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 02-21-2009, 01:18 AM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wavelength View Post
Not only that, but Logic doesn't seem to be particularily picky about the hardware you choose to use with it.
Don't get me started on M-boxes. I saw one today when I was buying my interface. They were asking just short of 300! I know those things are awful, awful, awful. My interface wasn't considerably more than that but it's better quality and has far more on it. Plus there won't be a problem with ridiculously poor signal-to-noise ratio with the preamps AND it's far more flexible.

Oh dear.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 02-21-2009, 04:20 AM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

I am curious to hear the results!

My snare recording came out pretty decent, if a little bit less than perfect editing.
I am looking for a host site as a file repository (maybe putfile) but I don't want the asinine "wait" countdown or ads if possible.

The presonus makes a better "soundcard" than any soundcard I have ever heard. Unadulterated 24/96 quality.

My side snare will be here saturday (tomorrow) along with my new condenser mic and maybe (gasp) some 2002 bronze.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 02-21-2009, 04:45 AM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Incidentally, all the stuff I paid for on PC seems to work just as well for FREE on Imac.

Open office, GIMP, Garage Band... and so on. Why pirate when the stuff is given to you?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:03 PM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by trkdrmr View Post
Incidentally, all the stuff I paid for on PC seems to work just as well for FREE on Imac.

Open office, GIMP, Garage Band... and so on. Why pirate when the stuff is given to you?
Precisely why Apple have lowered the price of Logic Studio to students. Some guy clearly worked out that students were pirating massive amounts of software and so by lowering the price to something accessible - you're going to reduce the piracy. Cubase is pirated all the time and so are a lot of the plug-ins. Logic doesn't have the same piracy problem, for two reasons: i) it's Mac-only and pirating software on Macs is less common for various reasons and ii) it's accessibly priced to one of their biggest markets. Failing that, Logic Express is available, which is accessibly priced for most people and is a very good functional bit of software. Just without some of the bells and whistles.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:46 PM
jonescrusher's Avatar
jonescrusher jonescrusher is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,185
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mediocrefunkybeat View Post
Precisely why Apple have lowered the price of Logic Studio to students. Some guy clearly worked out that students were pirating massive amounts of software and so by lowering the price to something accessible - you're going to reduce the piracy. Cubase is pirated all the time and so are a lot of the plug-ins. Logic doesn't have the same piracy problem, for two reasons: i) it's Mac-only and pirating software on Macs is less common for various reasons and ii) it's accessibly priced to one of their biggest markets. Failing that, Logic Express is available, which is accessibly priced for most people and is a very good functional bit of software. Just without some of the bells and whistles.

Agreed. When I discovered just how low the price of the Logic Pro package was at student rates it made me not only buy ut but the macbook to run it on. It's very nice to have all the manuals as well.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 02-21-2009, 05:19 PM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

When did you get Logic and the MacBook? Out of interest? Recently or when they first made the price cut?
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 02-21-2009, 05:28 PM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

The snare recording came out pretty good. I edited the samples together so it went directly from snares off to snares on.

The "Play" kept going and I kept looking for a "stop" button. Apple has the KISS principle in full effect here. Simply deselect the play.... duhhh....


My side snare is on a fed ex truck in town heading my way. Once it gets here and I set it up, I am off to GC for another condenser mic and maybe some CuSn8 disks.
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 02-21-2009, 06:42 PM
jonescrusher's Avatar
jonescrusher jonescrusher is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,185
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mediocrefunkybeat View Post
When did you get Logic and the MacBook? Out of interest? Recently or when they first made the price cut?
Both about a year ago. My brother's girlfriend was still a student at the time and ordered on behalf. I think there was about a 2 per person limit, so me and my bro took advantage. Cost about 120ish. Great deal, but still on the learning curve, being my first proper DAW. Coming good though, have been investing in recording equipment, almost there with the full clip of mics and got the alesis io26 (even given the internet rantings about its performance has been running perfectly):D
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 02-21-2009, 06:45 PM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

First full DAW? Well, at least it was a good one. It can be a little esoteric; but if you haven't learned the little tricks of the Environment window yet - I suggest you do.

I got hold of my Line6 TonePort UX8 yesterday. So far, so good. Great interface and bang on what I wanted to pay for one. Next on the list is a pair of C1000's and assorted accessories and I'll be half way there. I've had my system for a long time with a view to getting this sort of gear but never really got around to it until now. So far it's all working like a dream.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 02-21-2009, 06:51 PM
jonescrusher's Avatar
jonescrusher jonescrusher is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,185
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mediocrefunkybeat View Post
First full DAW? Well, at least it was a good one. It can be a little esoteric; but if you haven't learned the little tricks of the Environment window yet - I suggest you do.

I got hold of my Line6 TonePort UX8 yesterday. So far, so good. Great interface and bang on what I wanted to pay for one. Next on the list is a pair of C1000's and assorted accessories and I'll be half way there. I've had my system for a long time with a view to getting this sort of gear but never really got around to it until now. So far it's all working like a dream.

Yeah, i've fiddled around with old versions of logic and cubase on the pc before, cutting up samples and such, but the functionality and reliability of this setup is a revelation. Getting lots of tips of SFlogicninja on Youtube as well. Decided on the c1000s? I've only got the overheads to get now and am deciding between the 1000s and the c430s. Hmmm....
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 02-21-2009, 07:02 PM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonescrusher View Post
Yeah, i've fiddled around with old versions of logic and cubase on the pc before, cutting up samples and such, but the functionality and reliability of this setup is a revelation. Getting lots of tips of SFlogicninja on Youtube as well. Decided on the c1000s? I've only got the overheads to get now and am deciding between the 1000s and the c430s. Hmmm....
Personally, the C1000's. I'm buying general-purpose mics, so I want something that is relatively flat. The C430's are too EQ'd for me, but as drum overheads they'd do just fine!
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 02-21-2009, 09:46 PM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

All righty then...

Side snare and new trick dominator beaters as well. They are perfectly between the lightweight stuff (stock beater/ic beater) and the pearl quadbeater. medium weight.

The 12x6 side snare came with s-hoop on top, great for rim clicks, crappy for claw-style sm-57 holder. The head on top is an ec reverse dot. While it sounds decent, I am swapping it out with a g1 coated, for more top end attack.

I just finished swapping out my ram, I am now running 4gb. BOO HISS! To Apple for making the access door screw needlessly microscopic.

I am off for another mic,and maybe some Swiss pies.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 02-22-2009, 02:36 AM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Shopping results at gc:

1 AKG perception 170 condenser mic/livewire cable
1 12" g1 coated for side snare (ec reverse dot sounded too thick for a side snare)
1 16" Paiste 2002 thin crash
1 18" Paiste 2002 thin crash

A test recording confirms my thesis. By placing a single condenser mic below the octabans, it sound like each octaban has a mic. It brings out about 80% more low end than without one. Now the ban's really sound like Stewart Copeland's from 1986 synchronicity live, which was my goal. He had mics in every octaban.

The 12x6 side snare is a spine-snapper to be sure. The s-hoops are pretty cool, and this snare is an easy lock for a main snare (it thinks it's a 14") or power poppin' side.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 02-22-2009, 06:16 AM
genericdrummingusername's Avatar
genericdrummingusername genericdrummingusername is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Post-Industrial Hick wasteland.
Posts: 413
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Are you using wood sticks? That kinda bothers me. Playing advanced aluminum drums with...wood. Wood is for wood and AU is for AU if you ask me.


But then, I use Aheads on my birch kit....whatever.
__________________
I also play Bass.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 02-22-2009, 10:30 AM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by genericdrummingusername View Post
Are you using wood sticks? That kinda bothers me. Playing advanced aluminum drums with...wood. Wood is for wood and AU is for AU if you ask me.


But then, I use Aheads on my birch kit....whatever.
I have some ahead sticks, but the balance is too weird for me. Now if TRICK made some sticks...I'm soo there....
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 02-22-2009, 01:41 PM
jonescrusher's Avatar
jonescrusher jonescrusher is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,185
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by genericdrummingusername View Post
Are you using wood sticks? That kinda bothers me. Playing advanced aluminum drums with...wood. Wood is for wood and AU is for AU if you ask me.


But then, I use Aheads on my birch kit....whatever.

That's some flawed logic. Ahead sticks should be left well alone regardless of shell material.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 02-22-2009, 02:26 PM
Wavelength's Avatar
Wavelength Wavelength is online now
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,071
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by genericdrummingusername View Post
Are you using wood sticks? That kinda bothers me. Playing advanced aluminum drums with...wood. Wood is for wood and AU is for AU if you ask me.


But then, I use Aheads on my birch kit....whatever.
Are you using plastic heads? That kinda bothers me. Plastic is for plastic and wood is for wood, if you ask me.
__________________
I play Kumu Drums. I also shoot videos.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 02-22-2009, 09:40 PM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

So - first use of my new interface. Emergency use recording a big band that I wasn't meant to be recording on my Mac - I was supposed to be using an HDD recorder but unfortunately something went wrong and it wouldn't switch on! I suspect a power surge took out the transformer (old wiring) but it's still under warranty I think so going back to Yamaha in the next few days.

The new interface is great except for the fact that for whatever reason the XLR inputs at the front don't correspond to the channel numbers at the back in terms of positioning. Input 8's XLR is on the far right, but the gain for input 8 is on the left. Makes no sense and meant that I missed two songs as a result; but I learned the lesson at least. Great interface - pretty good preamps too by the sounds of it. It's all good.

Last edited by Mediocrefunkybeat; 02-23-2009 at 02:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 02-23-2009, 12:11 AM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

I am taking notes, because it represents where I will eventually be.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 02-23-2009, 02:15 AM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by trkdrmr View Post
I am taking notes, because it represents where I will eventually be.
To be honest mate, you're probably already there.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 02-23-2009, 02:41 PM
genericdrummingusername's Avatar
genericdrummingusername genericdrummingusername is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Post-Industrial Hick wasteland.
Posts: 413
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wavelength View Post
Are you using plastic heads? That kinda bothers me. Plastic is for plastic and wood is for wood, if you ask me.
Frankly, I kinda doubt wood heads exist, but I don't want to start anything.
I'm just suggesting that modern sticks would go well with modern drums.
__________________
I also play Bass.

Last edited by genericdrummingusername; 02-23-2009 at 02:41 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 03-05-2009, 06:23 AM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Update:

After I get my imac updated, running etc... not two weeks after I buy my imac, apple drops the price of the 24" imac to $1499, the same as the 20" used to be. Slap in the face...
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 03-06-2009, 01:23 PM
PQleyR's Avatar
PQleyR PQleyR is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Godalming, UK
Posts: 2,269
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

I feel I should interject on behalf of us Cubase users...

Cubase has always worked fine for me. I spent over a year trying to get a pleasant sound out of Logic Pro 7.2 and I never managed to get anything satisfactory. My workflow only improved after I went back to cubase.

I am running it on a mac at the moment, but I have had plenty of decent experience on PCs as well. There are actually many aspects of Cubase that are more intuitive than Logic, as anyone who's tried to get the Environment organised in Logic 7 may be able to symphathise with.

Just thought I should put across an alternative point of view, as the discussion here seems to be against the use of Cubase 100%! I think perhaps a few bad experiences have prejudiced you against what is actually quite a nice little program.
__________________
Drummer for Gloryhammer
My facebook page
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 03-06-2009, 01:32 PM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by PQleyR View Post
I feel I should interject on behalf of us Cubase users...

Cubase has always worked fine for me. I spent over a year trying to get a pleasant sound out of Logic Pro 7.2 and I never managed to get anything satisfactory. My workflow only improved after I went back to cubase.

I am running it on a mac at the moment, but I have had plenty of decent experience on PCs as well. There are actually many aspects of Cubase that are more intuitive than Logic, as anyone who's tried to get the Environment organised in Logic 7 may be able to symphathise with.

Just thought I should put across an alternative point of view, as the discussion here seems to be against the use of Cubase 100%! I think perhaps a few bad experiences have prejudiced you against what is actually quite a nice little program.
I have cubase, I haven't loaded it on the imac, just the function-resistant Sony Viao pc. I can assume it was something proprietary (hardware) in the Sony, but in the meantime I still have a long way to go with garage band, and getting the right sound out of my kit.

The jury is still out in terms of audix d6. I am thinking for my purposes the shure beta would have gotten a better low end from my kick drum.

I digress: Cubase isn't really for someone totally fresh in the area of recording. Garage band is much easier to assimilate for newbies. When I am ready to advance, I will install CUbase 4 Le and press on.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 03-06-2009, 01:56 PM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Garage band (imac) vs CUbase le 4 agony

Quote:
Originally Posted by PQleyR View Post
I feel I should interject on behalf of us Cubase users...

Cubase has always worked fine for me. I spent over a year trying to get a pleasant sound out of Logic Pro 7.2 and I never managed to get anything satisfactory. My workflow only improved after I went back to cubase.

I am running it on a mac at the moment, but I have had plenty of decent experience on PCs as well. There are actually many aspects of Cubase that are more intuitive than Logic, as anyone who's tried to get the Environment organised in Logic 7 may be able to symphathise with.

Just thought I should put across an alternative point of view, as the discussion here seems to be against the use of Cubase 100%! I think perhaps a few bad experiences have prejudiced you against what is actually quite a nice little program.
Cubase and I have never gotten on well at all. I suspect it's a combination of being given particularly bad versions to work with and the fact that I (personally) DO find Logic much more intuitive. Personally, I never had a problem with the Environment in Logic 5, 6, 7 or 8 (although 5 could be a bit fiddly and 6 was a bit limited) and Logic 8's environment is incredibly simple; although ReWire can cause problems. Simple solution there: use Soundflower instead!

The only downside to using Logic is the number of free plug-ins available. AU formats are harder to come across than VST but SoundHack is available as a free plug-in as well as CamelCrusher and a few other good ones - plus the included plug-ins are generally superb. Particularly fond of the drum machine and modelling synthesiser ones.

I guess Cubase and Logic are basically equivalent. They're both very similar in terms of layout and functionality, but I just find Logic to be like Cubase without the hassle or fiddling. For me, it just works. Cubase I had to tweak with for ages to get to go my way. But if you're happy with Cubase, plenty of people still use it!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com