DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-17-2008, 05:46 AM
raje.a raje.a is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default metronomes

Hi folks,
I was silly enough to loose my metronome so now I'm in the market for a new one. I'm thinking I'll a db 90. Is there any others that are similar but cheaper, or should I just fork out the cash for the above mentioned?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2008, 05:54 PM
Suds's Avatar
Suds Suds is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Foxboro, MA
Posts: 26
Default Re: metronomes

I use my Roland Rhythm Coach practice pad with headphones. Works great for a metronome and also gives me something else to hit when using it with my kit.

It's also plenty portable enough so I can take it upstairs and use as a practice pad.
At some point I may add a KD-8 kick trigger to it so I can practice my footwork along with my hands.

I have the older RMP-2 model. The newer RMP-3 model is cheaper, but I don't think you can add anymore pads/triggers. The RMP-5 is more expensive, but allows you to add two more pads.

I don't know if this is what you need, but it works great for me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2008, 06:13 PM
Drifter in the Dark Drifter in the Dark is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Posts: 565
Default Re: metronomes

I've used a Boss Dr. Beat DB-88 for a couple years now, and it hasn't let me down yet. The Tama Rhythm Watch is popular too because it was designed specifically for drum set use and it has a little more volume than others. Whatever your choice, make sure to invest in some high-quality isolation headphones; your ears will thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2008, 01:57 AM
trkdrmr
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: metronomes

I just ordered a Tama rythm watch, it was about $80.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2008, 02:34 PM
TTNW's Avatar
TTNW TTNW is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,846
Default Re: metronomes

I use the DB60 and it's nice. It loses any saved settings when you swap out batteries which is pain in the butt if you like to save different rythms and tempos.

If so look into ones that have an internal memory that will not get wiped out when you put in fresh batteries.
__________________
Philippe - Eat, Sleep and Drum.. .. it makes for a good weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2008, 03:03 AM
cyclepilot2 cyclepilot2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 80
Default Re: metronomes

i'll also second the Tama rythm watch,its simple and has most everything you need including a loud enough click. i also have a Zoom 223 drum machine/metronome that is feature packed but a little confusing sometimes.(mabey operator error)lol
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2008, 03:09 AM
Daphfz's Avatar
Daphfz Daphfz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 443
Default Re: metronomes

Lol all u people with your fancy metronomes haha, i just use a metronome thats inbuilt into my guitar tuner :P, works great hehe, cost 10bucks new lol
__________________
Tama Starclassic B/B, Evans Skins, Zildjian/Paiste Cymbals, Zildjian/Promark Sticks, Pearl Pedals
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2009, 02:04 AM
mallendion mallendion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 30
Default Re: metronomes

I have a DB-30 that I picked up on sale from GC for about $30.

I like how easily it fits in my shirt pocket so that the Nintendo Gameboy Advance headphones that I've plugged into it can put the beat up to my ear. :-)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2009, 06:57 AM
geeza's Avatar
geeza geeza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach S.C.
Posts: 118
Default Re: metronomes

I use the Yamaha Clickstation. It has a silent vibrating pad so you can feel the tempo , also illuminating lcd screen and either programed tempo settings or just enter your tempo and you're there, instead of dialing a knob like on the Tama RW.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com