DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Heads and Sticks

Heads and Sticks Discuss Heads and Sticks

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-15-2008, 07:48 PM
Drummertist's Avatar
Drummertist Drummertist is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 605
Default How do I need to tune a G2 Coated over G1 Clear...

...on a 12 & 14 Tama Superstar toms?
__________________
DRüMMER+IST
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:09 PM
joshisaces's Avatar
joshisaces joshisaces is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pensacola, Fl
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: How do I need to tune a G2 Coated over G1 Clear...

I would tune them to the same tone. Is that what you mean? Or what note should you tune them to?
__________________
\m/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:23 PM
Nodiggie's Avatar
Nodiggie Nodiggie is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: How do I need to tune a G2 Coated over G1 Clear...

I have CX with Fast Tom sizes. I like to tune them as low as possible ...just till you get the wrinkles out. Then I cheat.

I have a .mp3 track of acoustic electronic toms that repeat the note over and over for about a minute for each tom size (8,10,12,14). I pitch tune them as close as possible to these notes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:50 PM
drumhead61's Avatar
drumhead61 drumhead61 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,143
Default Re: How do I need to tune a G2 Coated over G1 Clear...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodiggie View Post
I have CX with Fast Tom sizes. I like to tune them as low as possible ...just till you get the wrinkles out. Then I cheat.

I have a .mp3 track of acoustic electronic toms that repeat the note over and over for about a minute for each tom size (8,10,12,14). I pitch tune them as close as possible to these notes.
HEY, lemme get in on some of that cheating action...I will take that @ jmfii@earthlink.net if ya don't mind Nodiggie, I like cheats
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:52 PM
Drummertist's Avatar
Drummertist Drummertist is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 605
Default Re: How do I need to tune a G2 Coated over G1 Clear...

I want to cheat too! drummertist@yahoo.com
__________________
DRüMMER+IST
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:56 PM
Strangelove's Avatar
Strangelove Strangelove is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Somewhere west of sanity
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: How do I need to tune a G2 Coated over G1 Clear...

Regardless of what pitch you tune them to, try to keep the batter head and the resonant head close to the same tension. This will give you the best resonance. If you get out of balance, and one head is alot tighter than the other, you will get a very dead sounding drum, regardless of what pitch it's tuned to. Personally, I keep my bottom resos about 1/4 turn tighter than my top batters.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2008, 03:44 AM
SpankYDubbS's Avatar
SpankYDubbS SpankYDubbS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 53
Default Re: How do I need to tune a G2 Coated over G1 Clear...

count me in that cheat too spankydubbs@gmail.com
__________________
My Kit YouTube
Battlefield - PDP - Zildjian - Remo - Evans - SilverFox
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-16-2008, 03:48 AM
DrewTheShoe's Avatar
DrewTheShoe DrewTheShoe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 309
Default Re: How do I need to tune a G2 Coated over G1 Clear...

Finger tension the reso.
Slowly increase tension.
Get the tone you want, then keep going. If you like the pitch after the tightening, keep it. If you don't, bring it back down.
You'd be surprised how much more full a drum sounds when it's tensioned a little bit more.

Repeat for the batter side.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2008, 03:49 AM
Nodiggie's Avatar
Nodiggie Nodiggie is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cowtown
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: How do I need to tune a G2 Coated over G1 Clear...

lol
You like that?
Sad to say....my boy confiscated my .mp3 player (his broke) and my file is GONE !!!

Never fear, I'll just make another one... : )
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com