DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-18-2008, 02:07 AM
sciomako sciomako is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 503
Default Brushes on Roland v-drum?

I think I read on Roland's website that only TD-12 and TD-20 support brushes. So, they can generate continuous brush sound if I sweep the pad with a brush in circle motion? But why only these models?

Which is/are true?

(a) Only these modules can interpret the trigger data generated by the brush movement
(b) Only these modules have preset brush sounds
(c) Only the mesh pad models coming with these models have the triggers to sense brush movement.
__________________
John - An absolute drum beginner
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2008, 04:00 AM
Cymbalrider's Avatar
Cymbalrider Cymbalrider is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Brushes on Roland v-drum?

They make brush sounds and you 'could' play them with brushes, although trying not to get the bristles stuck in the mesh is a hard task. You could also play the brush settings with hands, sticks or whatever. The touching of something to the head triggers the swish sound. The harder hits, or taps will be the brush tap sound. There's a TD-12 kit we have on campus. You can get a basic swish, tap out of them but don't expect but 5% of the possibilities you could play with real brushes on a real drum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2008, 01:32 PM
ZootELoops's Avatar
ZootELoops ZootELoops is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 192
Default Re: Brushes on Roland v-drum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sciomako View Post
I think I read on Roland's website that only TD-12 and TD-20 support brushes. So, they can generate continuous brush sound if I sweep the pad with a brush in circle motion? But why only these models?

Which is/are true?

(a) Only these modules can interpret the trigger data generated by the brush movement
(b) Only these modules have preset brush sounds
(c) Only the mesh pad models coming with these models have the triggers to sense brush movement.
I believe there is a bank sound that replicates brushes - check your manual or their site. That way you can hit with sticks and still produce the brush sound. I have the TD-3 (which has a brush kit), but I don't think I would ever play with brushes - IMO, that's like playing the sax with your ass!
__________________
Save a Drum - Bang a Drummer!
Mapex Saturn Studio - Mango Burst
Zildjian A Custom Cymbals
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2008, 11:12 PM
rmandelbaum's Avatar
rmandelbaum rmandelbaum is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,043
Default Re: Brushes on Roland v-drum?

You have to use the nylon brushes. The wires ones will not work.
__________________
DW Collectors
Vintage Superstars
Roland TD-20
Misc. Snares
My Web Site
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2008, 11:17 PM
sciomako sciomako is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 503
Default Re: Brushes on Roland v-drum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZootELoops View Post
but I don't think I would ever play with brushes - IMO, that's like playing the sax with your ass!
But this doesn't sound too bad...

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=B5YmRg0WPH0
__________________
John - An absolute drum beginner
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-18-2008, 11:18 PM
sciomako sciomako is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 503
Default Re: Brushes on Roland v-drum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmandelbaum View Post
You have to use the nylon brushes. The wires ones will not work.
rmandelbaum,

Do you know if it works on TD-9 module if I have the right mesh pad?
__________________
John - An absolute drum beginner
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2008, 05:37 AM
Trip McNealy's Avatar
Trip McNealy Trip McNealy is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 697
Default Re: Brushes on Roland v-drum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmandelbaum View Post
You have to use the nylon brushes. The wires ones will not work.
Correct.

The TD-8 also supports brushes but a tad less realisitc than the TD-12 or 20. I have a TD-8 and one of the stock kits is indeed Brushes.
__________________
I've been drumming for 35 years. I'm 34 years old.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2008, 09:27 AM
sciomako sciomako is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 503
Default Re: Brushes on Roland v-drum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip McNealy View Post
Correct.

The TD-8 also supports brushes but a tad less realisitc than the TD-12 or 20. I have a TD-8 and one of the stock kits is indeed Brushes.
I think TD-8 is no longer available and the current models are TD-3, TD-9, TD-12 and TD-20. And I read that TD-9 was actually a step below it. :-(
__________________
John - An absolute drum beginner
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2008, 03:31 PM
ZootELoops's Avatar
ZootELoops ZootELoops is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 192
Default Re: Brushes on Roland v-drum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sciomako View Post
But this doesn't sound too bad...

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=B5YmRg0WPH0
Well, I won't go searching the internet for someone playing a "south-wind" instrument - although I am sure in this crazy world that there are some who can make it sound beautiful.

My point is, WHY? It's not an acoustic drum set, so you arent getting the subtle nuances of the brushes on the kit. Sure, ekits are velocity sensitive, but it still doesnt make sense why anyone would want to play them with brushes if there is a sound bank already programed for the brush sound. if you hit an e-kit with brushes, wont it still sound like a regular drum stroke?

Perhaps I don't know enough about this, but it would seem to me that the ekit pad can't tell the difference between a brush stroke and a stick stroke, because it's all electronically triggered to produce a set sound, regardless of what you use to strike.
__________________
Save a Drum - Bang a Drummer!
Mapex Saturn Studio - Mango Burst
Zildjian A Custom Cymbals
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-24-2008, 03:42 AM
Trip McNealy's Avatar
Trip McNealy Trip McNealy is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 697
Default Re: Brushes on Roland v-drum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sciomako View Post
I think TD-8 is no longer available and the current models are TD-3, TD-9, TD-12 and TD-20. And I read that TD-9 was actually a step below it. :-(

Correct.. Not sure if the OP was asking a general question or was planning to get an E-kit.


ALTHOUGH, eBay is a great source for used modules, including TD-8! :)
__________________
I've been drumming for 35 years. I'm 34 years old.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-24-2008, 11:06 AM
Rick_Strong's Avatar
Rick_Strong Rick_Strong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Windsor Nova Scotia Can.
Posts: 74
Default Re: Brushes on Roland v-drum?

Cant speak for the TD-12 but the TD-20 does have brush sounds. The module itself has the sound not the pad. You can set the entire kit to be played with brushes.

Roland did a good job on this but I think they still have a ways to go.

My 2 cents
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com