DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-08-2008, 05:39 AM
hayasa hayasa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default Have Alesis DM5 kit, want different brain

New kit, but I'm really not thrilled with the DM5, or rather, I was messing around with the Roland TD-9 and fell in love. The DM5 isn't nearly as fun - I just don't want to pay $800 for just the brain since my whole set-up cost around that.

Anyone know if there are other modules that might be comparable, and more importantly, compatible? Do all brains work with all pads and such, or are hardware and software all proprietary per the manufacturer?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2008, 07:29 AM
harryconway's Avatar
harryconway harryconway is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pasadena, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 9,223
Default Re: Have Alesis DM5 kit, want different brain

Right now, there are 3 TD-9 modules for sale. This one http://cgi.ebay.com/Roland-TD-9-Perc...QQcmdZViewItem is auction format. They sell for what they sell for, because they are good. As you can personally attest. Lots of people use different pads (Alesis, Hart, etc) with Roland modules. Some people prefer the Yamaha sounds over the Roland. Yamaha actually samples their own drums (Maple Customs, Recording Customs, into their modules). Roland, well, they don't make drums, but they do have an extensive library of sounds and effects. They are top dog in the game, with Yamaha #2.
__________________
This seat does not recline as per Federal Aviation Regulation 121.310 (f)(3)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2008, 11:19 AM
Guz2's Avatar
Guz2 Guz2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Britain
Posts: 466
Default Re: Have Alesis DM5 kit, want different brain

Roland TD-3 is what I have, it's very good
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2008, 06:46 PM
hayasa hayasa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Have Alesis DM5 kit, want different brain

So all pads work with all controllers? I guess ones that take three inputs (like some cymbals) just have to deactivate a port or something to get everything to work right, huh.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2008, 09:41 PM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Have Alesis DM5 kit, want different brain

Quote:
Originally Posted by hayasa View Post
So all pads work with all controllers? I guess ones that take three inputs (like some cymbals) just have to deactivate a port or something to get everything to work right, huh.
MIDI is just a series of control messages, and that's what the module does. Convert a voltage (which the pads produce) into a MIDI message and assign a patch to that message. So yes, all pads work with all modules as long as they run on the current MIDI format.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com