DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Your Place > Your Gear

Your Gear Show your Gear - Pictures - Descriptions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-27-2007, 11:08 PM
Jay.B.'s Avatar
Jay.B. Jay.B. is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Derbyshire, Midlands, UK
Posts: 720
Default New Arrangement inc. new item

changed the setup, and installed my new Roland that my Girlfriend bought me for Christmas, I'm sure the position of the spd-s will change over the next few weeks as I find the optimum position, but for now it'll do just there...

Name:  SPDS-1.jpg
Views: 1274
Size:  126.3 KB
Name:  SPDS-2.jpg
Views: 1247
Size:  133.3 KB
Name:  SPDS-3.jpg
Views: 1231
Size:  160.7 KB
Name:  SPDS-4.jpg
Views: 1234
Size:  168.5 KB

Just using 12" and 16" toms at the mo for recording purposes, got the snare double mic'd, an overhead mic, a kick mic, and a mic each on the 2 toms.

I would upload a rough mix of one of the songs we cover, but it keeps coming up with an error and it's only a third of the allowed file size, so if you would like to hear our version of "buck rogers" you'll have to check out our myspace page http://www.myspace.com/thedicecovers in about 24 hours time as I have just uploaded it to there
__________________
Get Ya Groove On

http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=34061
My Latest Addition
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2007, 11:58 PM
groove meister's Avatar
groove meister groove meister is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Belfast, NI
Posts: 104
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

hey man,
I also got an SPDS for xmas
how do you find it? im liking mine
I see you have the correct mounting hardware..mines on a snare stand for now :S
where did ya pick it up?
Have you picked up a compact flash card for yours yet? if so, what model?
Its hard finding one that works :(
Are ya using your own samples? what are you generaly using it for?

Sorry, a lot of Q'S!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2007, 12:19 AM
Jay.B.'s Avatar
Jay.B. Jay.B. is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Derbyshire, Midlands, UK
Posts: 720
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

Quote:
Originally Posted by groove meister View Post
hey man,
I also got an SPDS for xmas
how do you find it? im liking mine
I see you have the correct mounting hardware..mines on a snare stand for now :S
where did ya pick it up?
Have you picked up a compact flash card for yours yet? if so, what model?
Its hard finding one that works :(
Are ya using your own samples? what are you generaly using it for?

Sorry, a lot of Q'S!
and all answered LOL

how do you find it? - So far so good, only touched the surface so far... but it should do all I require and more...

I see you have the correct mounting hardware..mines on a snare stand for now :S where did ya pick it up? - I got the SPD-S from sound control in Birmingham for 320, they have a dedicated Roland section with one of their own guys in there, I got the mopunting plate thrown in for free as I already had a spare stand and clamp available.

Have you picked up a compact flash card for yours yet? if so, what model? - I had, prior to Christmas, ordered a sandisk extreme III as I thought all CF cards were acceptable, I have now sold that one and ordered a 4Gb Sandisk Ultra 2, fingers crossed for that one...

Are ya using your own samples? - I will be using my own samples, as soon as I have a compatible CF card, it will be used to trigger a combination of recorded sequences/backing tracks that I have created, along with various loops, phrases and shots, along with possibly rigging it up via midi to control our lights
__________________
Get Ya Groove On

http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=34061
My Latest Addition
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:49 AM
SLEEPY BRiGHT EYEZ's Avatar
SLEEPY BRiGHT EYEZ SLEEPY BRiGHT EYEZ is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Louisiana Swamp
Posts: 1,739
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

Nice! I got to get my hands on one of those bad boys at some point.
__________________
Listen to WWOZ
Tape Op
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:54 PM
groove meister's Avatar
groove meister groove meister is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Belfast, NI
Posts: 104
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

Cool man! thanks for the many answers
If you could do me a favour, id appreciate it if you could let me know if the CF card works!
:) happy drumming
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2007, 08:30 PM
punkdrummer1's Avatar
punkdrummer1 punkdrummer1 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 659
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

looks great man. I was thinking about getting one of those to do loops and stuff. look's very cool.
__________________




Endorsements are hard to come by. Anyone???? :p
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2008, 06:35 PM
Jay.B.'s Avatar
Jay.B. Jay.B. is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Derbyshire, Midlands, UK
Posts: 720
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

Quote:
Originally Posted by groove meister View Post
Cool man! thanks for the many answers
If you could do me a favour, id appreciate it if you could let me know if the CF card works!
:) happy drumming
right dude...

done some more reading, it would appear that the maximum memory card size that can be used is 512MB
Unfortunately you have to find this out by reading the memory card message list on page 131 of the manual, that is the only place I can see any reference to size, it's the 3rd message down "unsupported" ... not that that particular brand is unsupported, but the size... even the guy in the store where I bought the unit from said I could use any size card, I have even been on the Roland site and in the specs it didn't at the time say anything about the max card size being 512MB

This should hopefully make your choice of memory card a little easier...
__________________
Get Ya Groove On

http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=34061
My Latest Addition
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2008, 06:59 PM
Jay.B.'s Avatar
Jay.B. Jay.B. is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Derbyshire, Midlands, UK
Posts: 720
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

Sandisk Ultra II 512MB compact flash memory card works
__________________
Get Ya Groove On

http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=34061
My Latest Addition
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:06 PM
cavica cavica is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 130
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

Nice kit, I really like the dice cymbal wing nuts, did you make them yours self? If you did how did you do it?
__________________
Drums- Mapex Saturns, Cymbals- Zildjian, Sabian. Sticks- Zildjian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-30-2008, 03:31 AM
pearl_floyd's Avatar
pearl_floyd pearl_floyd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 98
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay.B. View Post
Are ya using your own samples? - I will be using my own samples, as soon as I have a compatible CF card, it will be used to trigger a combination of recorded sequences/backing tracks that I have created, along with various loops, phrases and shots, along with possibly rigging it up via midi to control our lights
looking good, i've been looking into some sampling gear for my set too....i didn't now you could trigger lights with this too thats wicked
__________________
Sabian---Pearl---Remo---Vic Firth---LP
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-30-2008, 06:56 AM
katman's Avatar
katman katman is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 574
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

How nice of Santa - that's a cool toy.

Are those the coated EC2's on your toms? I'm interested to know what you think of them. Also, does the EC snare with the reverse dot deaden your snare a lot?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-30-2008, 11:58 AM
Jay.B.'s Avatar
Jay.B. Jay.B. is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Derbyshire, Midlands, UK
Posts: 720
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

Quote:
Originally Posted by pearl_floyd View Post
....i didn't now you could trigger lights with this too thats wicked
You need to send the midi out form the roland to a midi in on a laptop or PC running a ligting control program with a DMX interface I think... not really looked too far in to it yet, but midi note numbers can be assigned to the pads, which can then be converted from midi to dmx on the lappy... in theory anyway haha... that's what I'm hoping for anyway :-)
__________________
Get Ya Groove On

http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=34061
My Latest Addition
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-30-2008, 12:03 PM
Jay.B.'s Avatar
Jay.B. Jay.B. is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Derbyshire, Midlands, UK
Posts: 720
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

Quote:
Originally Posted by katman View Post
How nice of Santa - that's a cool toy.

Are those the coated EC2's on your toms? I'm interested to know what you think of them. Also, does the EC snare with the reverse dot deaden your snare a lot?
shock horror!!! I've ditched the coated EC2 heads for clear G2 and got a coated reverse dot on the snare now instead of the EC snare :-)
Got a much more lively sound out of the whole kit now, although the toms need a little more attention on tuning.

The EC snare didn't kill the drum, it still had quite a lively sound, but very controlled at the same time, the only reason I haven't got one on at the moment is they didn't have the EC snare head in stock :'-(
Name:  Kit.jpg
Views: 666
Size:  52.6 KB
__________________
Get Ya Groove On

http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=34061
My Latest Addition
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-02-2008, 03:57 PM
Switzer Switzer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: New Arrangement inc. new item

yo i used to pllay for kevin beckley,
HTML Code:
www.myspace.com/kevinbeckleymusic
and i used that same exact thing for our sound clips and bass drops... adds a whole new demension to a show... junks sick... nice kit to man
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com