DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-26-2008, 01:17 AM
LtCakes LtCakes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 20
Default Recording on a TD-6?

Hey I was reading up the specs on the new TD-9 and they mention how you can record yourself and also play along with music as long as you convert it to a wav file. Is it possible to do either of these with the TD-6?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2008, 05:45 AM
rmandelbaum's Avatar
rmandelbaum rmandelbaum is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,020
Default Re: Recording on a TD-6?

All of the Roland brains alow you to mix in from another source.

As for the recording question, what are really asking is if the TD-6 has a sequencer.
This is from the Roland website / TD-6 Brochure:

Sequencer Preset Songs: 170, User Songs: 100

So yes the TD-6 will do it as well.
__________________
DW Collectors
Vintage Superstars
Roland TD-20
Misc. Snares
My Web Site
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2008, 03:13 PM
wad wad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 73
Default Re: Recording on a TD-6?

yup, its really easy to record and not to bad it sounds great!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2008, 05:19 PM
xush's Avatar
xush xush is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 211
Default Re: Recording on a TD-6?

the difference is the new TD-9 lets you use the USB port to import audio files of your choice (in .WAV format) That means you can load any audio into the module, and it is accessible there without any other gear. You don't need anything else hooked up to the TD-9

With the TD6, you can't load audio files into the module, you have to play them through the 'mix in' input. That means you need a CD-player/iPod, etc to send the audio signal to the module. The sequencer works with midi info; you can't import songs as audio files.

so while both modules can record your playing via the sequencer, the TD-9 offers something the 6 can't do, in that you can import any song (audio format, not just midi) you want via USB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2008, 06:22 PM
hawk9290's Avatar
hawk9290 hawk9290 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ/Columbus, OH/Punta Gorda, Fl
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: Recording on a TD-6?

however, the TD-9 can't hold 8000 songs like my mp3 player...

personally, I would take the TD-6 over the TD-9 (based on its specs) any day, it seems like Roland has dumbed down the TD-6 and made its interface far more complicated than necessary. It has half the kits and half the sounds, and I've found that at some point or another, I have used about 75% of the 1000something sounds in the TD-6
Now if the TD-9 is replacing the TD-3, then thats a different story, the TD-9 is much better than the 3, but still a level below the 6
__________________
"When I hear music, I fear no danger. I am invulnerable. I see no foe."- Henry Thoreau
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2008, 12:11 AM
Trip McNealy's Avatar
Trip McNealy Trip McNealy is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 685
Default Re: Recording on a TD-6?

No Hawk, the TD-9 is a "revision" or update, if you will, of the TD-6V. The TD-3 isn't going anywhere.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2008, 02:28 AM
hawk9290's Avatar
hawk9290 hawk9290 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ/Columbus, OH/Punta Gorda, Fl
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: Recording on a TD-6?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip McNealy View Post
No Hawk, the TD-9 is a "revision" or update, if you will, of the TD-6V. The TD-3 isn't going anywhere.
Thats what I assumed, but there was that little bit of hope in me.
I understand that they are brand new to the market, so the cost is going to be a bit higher, but I wouldn't pay $2100 for a TD-9SX (at Sweetwater) that seems to only have a better rack and a triple triggering ride. I might be judging a little to early, but my first impressions in watching the NAMM video were mixed. I don't know their sales specs, so maybe the TD-6 wasn't going well for them, but this new TD-9 does not impress me, and I have always been impressed by Roland.
__________________
"When I hear music, I fear no danger. I am invulnerable. I see no foe."- Henry Thoreau
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2008, 04:18 AM
Trip McNealy's Avatar
Trip McNealy Trip McNealy is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 685
Default Re: Recording on a TD-6?

Yea, they are trying to broaden their reach into the "mid-level" class of e-drummer. The TD-12 and 20 are doing quite well but you find that more advanced drummers and users are only taking advantage of such...or people with money LOL.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com