DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-10-2007, 03:50 PM
drumr0's Avatar
drumr0 drumr0 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gordonsville, Tn.
Posts: 655
Default Running Mic cables

Hey all,
Just wondering if anyone has some tips running mic cables around the drums neatly. By the time I get all mine run it looks like someone spilled a plate of black spaghetti under my little sub mixer.

I thought about shortening my cables but if I change my setup around, would I have enough cable to make it to mixer, so I have to be careful there.

Just check the pictures in my signature and you will see what I mean. Maybe it's a necessary evil.

I know there is a better way and I am hoping someone will share...

Thanks,
JD
__________________
My Kit- DW--Paiste--Sabian--Gibraltar--http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=30002
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2007, 05:48 PM
IDDrummer's Avatar
IDDrummer IDDrummer is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: I-Dee-Ho
Posts: 3,287
Default Re: Running Mic cables

Being low tech and poor, I use the twist ties that come with garbage bags. Gather the cables together just below the mixer and tie them in a bundle. I tend to run the whole bundle under my throne, then split out to right/left side bundles. Then coil the excess of each individual cable and use the ties. I put the individual coils under the floor toms and to the left of the bass drum under the tom/cymbal stands. Works for me.

In live gigs where I have to set up in a hurry I use the same idea, but don't always take the time the tie the bundles and coils.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-10-2007, 10:27 PM
drumr0's Avatar
drumr0 drumr0 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gordonsville, Tn.
Posts: 655
Default Re: Running Mic cables

That is a good idea ID. I have a few of those "cable clamps" and I may try that too. I know what you mean about live gigs. It seems it's hurry up and set up and/or hurry up and break down and my cables are always in a mess when its like that.
__________________
My Kit- DW--Paiste--Sabian--Gibraltar--http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=30002
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:05 PM
hawk9290's Avatar
hawk9290 hawk9290 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tempe, AZ/Columbus, OH/Punta Gorda, Fl
Posts: 1,054
Default Re: Running Mic cables

Twist ties or zip ties or anything like that will help. The removeable velcro cable ties also work wonders. Try to keep your wires running near the stands all the way down, and if you have a lot of excess cable, you can make a screw-type pattern down the stands. Those ties can hold wires to the stand or group them together. I would also avoid coiling all the excess into a big bundle, try to keep the wires as free and natural as possible.
__________________
"When I hear music, I fear no danger. I am invulnerable. I see no foe."- Henry Thoreau
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2007, 04:36 AM
Skitch's Avatar
Skitch Skitch is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: Running Mic cables

Quote:
Originally Posted by IDDrummer View Post
Being low tech and poor, I use the twist ties that come with garbage bags. Gather the cables together just below the mixer and tie them in a bundle. I tend to run the whole bundle under my throne, then split out to right/left side bundles. Then coil the excess of each individual cable and use the ties. I put the individual coils under the floor toms and to the left of the bass drum under the tom/cymbal stands. Works for me.

In live gigs where I have to set up in a hurry I use the same idea, but don't always take the time the tie the bundles and coils.
I used this same method for my trigger cables. Qucik and easy set up.

Mike

http://www.mikemccraw.com
http://www.dominoretroplate.com

http://www.youtube.com/drummermikemccraw
http://www.myspace.com/drummermikemccraw
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2007, 08:31 AM
T.Underhill's Avatar
T.Underhill T.Underhill is online now
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 1,452
Default Re: Running Mic cables

The velcro ones work great. See if you can buy some bulk "computer" cable ones on eBay.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-12-2007, 03:48 PM
drumr0's Avatar
drumr0 drumr0 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gordonsville, Tn.
Posts: 655
Default Re: Running Mic cables

I will try those velcro wraps. Some came with my mic kit. Great ideas!! Thanks!!
__________________
My Kit- DW--Paiste--Sabian--Gibraltar--http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=30002
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com