DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-26-2007, 03:37 AM
Tuxido's Avatar
Tuxido Tuxido is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 670
Default Phantom Power Question

Hi,

I have a 2 channel MOOG audio mobilepre soundcard that has 35V of phantom power.
My mixer's Right and Left outputs are going into those two channels. So does that mean that all channels ( 9 ) of my mixer have 35V pantom power ? Also, most, if not all condensers require 48V phantom power, can I still run them with 35V ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2007, 05:36 PM
Les Ismore's Avatar
Les Ismore Les Ismore is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Location, Location!
Posts: 3,417
Default Re: Phantom Power Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuxido View Post
Hi,

I have a 2 channel MOOG audio mobilepre soundcard that has 35V of phantom power.
My mixer's Right and Left outputs are going into those two channels. So does that mean that all channels ( 9 ) of my mixer have 35V pantom power ? Also, most, if not all condensers require 48V phantom power, can I still run them with 35V ?

Thanks
What kind of mixer do you have, does it have phantom power? I'm assuming because you asked this question, your mixer does not have phantom power.

If using condenser mic's, they'll either work or they won't, so just give it a real world try and see, you won't damage the mic's.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:51 PM
Tuxido's Avatar
Tuxido Tuxido is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 670
Default Re: Phantom Power Question

Hi, my mixer is a Samson mixpad 9 (does not have phantom power), my sound card is a MOOG audio mobile pre (has 35V of phantompwer). I want to buy a condenser, but was wondering if I had to buy a phantom power box before.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:59 PM
Les Ismore's Avatar
Les Ismore Les Ismore is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Location, Location!
Posts: 3,417
Default Re: Phantom Power Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuxido View Post
Hi, my mixer is a Samson mixpad 9 (does not have phantom power), my sound card is a MOOG audio mobile pre (has 35V of phantompwer). I want to buy a condenser, but was wondering if I had to buy a phantom power box before.
You'll need a phantom pwr supply to run condenser with the Samson, but not with the Mobilepre.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2007, 10:44 PM
Tuxido's Avatar
Tuxido Tuxido is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 670
Default Re: Phantom Power Question

But since I could plug a Condenser in the mobilepre and it would work, shouldn't it work if i plug the Condenser in the mixer that goes in the mobile pre ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-27-2007, 08:24 AM
Les Ismore's Avatar
Les Ismore Les Ismore is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Location, Location!
Posts: 3,417
Default Re: Phantom Power Question

Samson (+4 voltage) is not compatable with mobilepre (-10 v).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2007, 01:27 PM
Tuxido's Avatar
Tuxido Tuxido is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 670
Default Re: Phantom Power Question

ok, thanks

2020202020
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-28-2007, 12:37 AM
PdoubleE's Avatar
PdoubleE PdoubleE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: upstste ny
Posts: 277
Default Re: Phantom Power Question

I dont think a 48v condenser will work with 35v. And if it does.. The sound will not be optimum.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-28-2007, 12:51 AM
Pearl Player's Avatar
Pearl Player Pearl Player is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Somewhere near the Mile High City
Posts: 197
Default Re: Phantom Power Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by PdoubleE View Post
I dont think a 48v condenser will work with 35v. And if it does.. The sound will not be optimum.
Get the spec sheet for the said mic..... It will tell you what the range of phantom is. If its a true Real condensor mic it will need the 48v.. Most of the current ones these days the phantom is used to power a preamp in the mic. And that may run at as low as 9 v phantom. The 48 volts is a carry over from the phone company LOL...

Mike
__________________
Pearl, Sabian Paragon, Remo, ProMark
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-28-2007, 12:59 AM
PdoubleE's Avatar
PdoubleE PdoubleE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: upstste ny
Posts: 277
Default Re: Phantom Power Question

Yeah.. My Studio Projects B-1 Needs 48v.. The first samson i had used 9v batteries. (It sucked hard!)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-28-2007, 01:07 AM
Pearl Player's Avatar
Pearl Player Pearl Player is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Somewhere near the Mile High City
Posts: 197
Default Re: Phantom Power Question

I use all CAD mics... And most of the condensors run less than 48 just fine.
__________________
Pearl, Sabian Paragon, Remo, ProMark
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-28-2007, 01:41 AM
somexone75's Avatar
somexone75 somexone75 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 156
Default Re: Phantom Power Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuxido View Post
Hi,

I have a 2 channel MOOG audio mobilepre soundcard that has 35V of phantom power.
My mixer's Right and Left outputs are going into those two channels. So does that mean that all channels ( 9 ) of my mixer have 35V pantom power ? Also, most, if not all condensers require 48V phantom power, can I still run them with 35V ?

Thanks
Nope not at all, the phantom power will only try to give the boards central bus the power and it will throw that straight to its ground. You should go out and get a phantom box for the mics that need it. What I personally do is I power straight off of my mixer for the phantom pwr because it is equipped with it. That is probably your best bet for phantom pwr if your on a budget. By the way don't buy beringer, their products are the crap of the crap in the audio industry, but like they say you get what you pay for.

If you have any more questions for sound gear feel free to contact me. I have been working in the industry for a while now.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com