DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Your Place > Your Gear

Your Gear Show your Gear - Pictures - Descriptions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-02-2007, 05:24 AM
mikei mikei is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster CA
Posts: 1,298
Default New Zep Set finally set up

Well,

I got back from vacation today.

The wife went to sleep, and I assembled the new kit in another room for pics. I couldn't play them, but tomorrow I will.

Here are pics of the initial set up.

Take care everyone!!!
Attached Images
     
__________________
Do you have length and girth? I do! 18 x 26 at your service.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2007, 05:33 AM
Jusstickinaround
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

OOOOH, AHHHH, very nice mate, tells us how it sounds.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2007, 06:59 AM
maddrummr's Avatar
maddrummr maddrummr is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,984
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Whew that set is nice.

SPECS!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2007, 03:43 PM
fijjibo's Avatar
fijjibo fijjibo is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MK, ENGLAND
Posts: 1,487
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Thats a beauty - how do they sound with the EC2's?

And I second the specs request....
__________________
My site!!!


Im back (unofficialy) with Pro.Mark Drumsticks. (TX5ABW)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2007, 05:03 PM
mikei mikei is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster CA
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Hello

Specs are 26 x 16 kick, 13 x 9 tom, 16 x 16 ft and 18x16 ft. Snare is 14 x 6.5.

The wood is mahogany/juniper. Sounds great with the kick and floor toms, but the mounted tom is a difficult bugger to tune with a limited tuning range.

The ec2s came with the kit. They sound pretty good. I will probably switch to coated emps or g2 coateds or the new aquarian super 2s.

Thanks for the feedback.
__________________
Do you have length and girth? I do! 18 x 26 at your service.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2007, 10:14 PM
rendezvous_drummer's Avatar
rendezvous_drummer rendezvous_drummer is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 3,182
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Nice kit man. Your signature is hilarious too! One question. What do you think of the 18" floor tom?
__________________
LET THE PEOPLE SING
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2007, 10:28 PM
mikei mikei is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster CA
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

I love the signature!! I had a friend at work email it to me. Then, in front of about 10 co workers, he had me read it out loud, since you don't get the full effect of it by reading!

Anyway, I had to read it about 4 times out loud to get it. By this time, everyone was laughing hysterically.

The 18 Booms!!!!! like a friggin cannon. When I brought it home, the GC guys had it tuned really low. With the EC2 heads, it is amazing how low you can tune it. So, when I got it home, the 18 sounded very similar to my 22 kick on my starclassic kit. It was unbelieveable. It must be the mahogany in the wood.

However, I didn't want it that low and experimented with the tunings. It has quite a range. I just tuned it up a bit and really like the sound. The 16 is great.

One problem I have always had was my 18s having too much resonance. They kind of lacked a definitive voice. Now that I tune the reso WAY up, it doesn't ring to much and is very punchy. I will try this tuning technique on my starclassic 16 and 18 soon.

Thanks for the feedback.
__________________
Do you have length and girth? I do! 18 x 26 at your service.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-15-2007, 03:29 AM
bojangleman's Avatar
bojangleman bojangleman is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,840
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

i thought that model of the Zep kit was Maple?..and kinda'uve a stupid question...but its a Zep kit...why are you all askin for the specs..rofl.....jp.



Alex
__________________
Band:
http://www.myspace.com/springloadedcomeback
Add Us!
CHRISTIAN DRUMMERS ARMY
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:18 AM
mofle's Avatar
mofle mofle is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Posts: 635
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bojangleman View Post
i thought that model of the Zep kit was Maple?..and kinda'uve a stupid question...but its a Zep kit...why are you all askin for the specs.
Because for some reason, Ludwig makes the accent zep kit with a 13'' tom. Why? I do not know. That is why we would ask for specs.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-15-2007, 04:25 AM
Ironcobra's Avatar
Ironcobra Ironcobra is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,209
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

that kit is hot, looks like it's really fun to play, post some more pics when you get coated heads, it will be pure sexyness
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-16-2007, 12:38 AM
tynn's Avatar
tynn tynn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Steinkjer, Norway
Posts: 109
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Ride angle alarm!
...........
__________________
Don't be a time keeper, play an instrument!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-16-2007, 05:36 AM
bojangleman's Avatar
bojangleman bojangleman is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,840
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

ahh...good respnse! :D


Quote:
Originally Posted by mofle View Post
Because for some reason, Ludwig makes the accent zep kit with a 13'' tom. Why? I do not know. That is why we would ask for specs.
__________________
Band:
http://www.myspace.com/springloadedcomeback
Add Us!
CHRISTIAN DRUMMERS ARMY
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-16-2007, 08:33 PM
mikei mikei is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster CA
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

It is 26 x 16, 13 x 9, 16 x 16 and 18 x 16. Snare is 14 x 6.5.

Ride angle alert? Never thought of that. What is the ideal degree needed? I didn't see a the published number! LOL
__________________
Do you have length and girth? I do! 18 x 26 at your service.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-16-2007, 10:48 PM
spartacus1989's Avatar
spartacus1989 spartacus1989 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lincoln, Uk
Posts: 379
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Beautiful kit.
I love it :D Can I ask why ever one calles a 5 peice set with a 26" bass drum a bonham set. Because didn't he some times use a double bassed kit?
__________________
X- Spartacus -X
Music happens by accident :: Creativity feeds on risk and mistakes
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-16-2007, 11:29 PM
mikei mikei is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster CA
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by spartacus1989 View Post
Beautiful kit.
I love it :D Can I ask why ever one calles a 5 peice set with a 26" bass drum a bonham set. Because didn't he some times use a double bassed kit?
He used a double only on occasion but never live. Only when jamming with the Zep guys. When Bonham stepped away, the rest of the guys would remove the extra bass drum. They said it just overpowered everything.
__________________
Do you have length and girth? I do! 18 x 26 at your service.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-17-2007, 03:32 AM
ZildjianMan1023's Avatar
ZildjianMan1023 ZildjianMan1023 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

do i smell sabian paragons?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-17-2007, 10:32 PM
mikei mikei is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster CA
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZildjianMan1023 View Post
do i smell sabian paragons?
You must be a bloodhound! They certainly are. I have the entire set. I really like them. Although, I am going to sell the 21 china. It is just to brash for me.
__________________
Do you have length and girth? I do! 18 x 26 at your service.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-18-2007, 12:59 AM
ZildjianMan1023's Avatar
ZildjianMan1023 ZildjianMan1023 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikei View Post
You must be a bloodhound! They certainly are. I have the entire set. I really like them. Although, I am going to sell the 21 china. It is just to brash for me.
haha i must be though.. i can tell by the gold imprinting.. how do they sound with your mish mash of bonham drums
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-18-2007, 06:21 AM
mikei mikei is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster CA
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZildjianMan1023 View Post
haha i must be though.. i can tell by the gold imprinting.. how do they sound with your mish mash of bonham drums
They sound pretty good. I think with this set I would prefer something a bit thinner. Especially the ride. The Paragon has no wash at all. Great for the other music I play. I would like to move to the Paiste 2002s. That will more than the shells cost me, so that just isn't feasible if I want to keep my marriage! And, I do!

So I will wait for Christmas and try to score the hats and ride!
__________________
Do you have length and girth? I do! 18 x 26 at your service.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-18-2007, 03:39 PM
Rockingfreakapotamus's Avatar
Rockingfreakapotamus Rockingfreakapotamus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 129
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikei View Post
One problem I have always had was my 18s having too much resonance. They kind of lacked a definitive voice. Now that I tune the reso WAY up, it doesn't ring to much and is very punchy. I will try this tuning technique on my starclassic 16 and 18 soon.
.
Hey, that is one awesome kit you have. Has a beautiful finish, looks old school.

Thats exactly the same way as i tune my 18 floor tom, before i tampered with it, it just had far too much resonance, and moon gel just killed it dead.

Do you like the mount used for the tom? Does it hold steady and not wobble around when you give it a good thump?

x
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-19-2007, 01:01 AM
mikei mikei is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster CA
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockingfreakapotamus View Post
Hey, that is one awesome kit you have. Has a beautiful finish, looks old school.

Thats exactly the same way as i tune my 18 floor tom, before i tampered with it, it just had far too much resonance, and moon gel just killed it dead.

Do you like the mount used for the tom? Does it hold steady and not wobble around when you give it a good thump?

x
It wobbles a bit more than I am used to. The hardware is certainly not as good as the hardware for my Tama Starclassics or my old Sonor 3005 set. The Tama Starclassic and Sonor's 3000 suspension mounts are WAY better. However, I didn't expect that quality from this Ludwig kit as it is from their Accent line. Perhaps I should have!!!

I still love the kit though.
__________________
Do you have length and girth? I do! 18 x 26 at your service.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-19-2007, 11:24 PM
Rockingfreakapotamus's Avatar
Rockingfreakapotamus Rockingfreakapotamus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 129
Default Re: New Zep Set finally set up

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikei View Post
It wobbles a bit more than I am used to. The hardware is certainly not as good as the hardware for my Tama Starclassics or my old Sonor 3005 set. The Tama Starclassic and Sonor's 3000 suspension mounts are WAY better. However, I didn't expect that quality from this Ludwig kit as it is from their Accent line. Perhaps I should have!!!
I feel that the suspended mounts have a lot of free motion, if the are attached to the cymbal stands in particular. The mounts have the benefit of the shell being undrilled.

Have you never considered using a snare stand to mount it?

x
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com