DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-09-2007, 03:00 AM
LtCakes LtCakes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 20
Default Just 1 AKG C1000?

Hey, I'm on a very very tight budget but I would still like to record some of my drumming ideas and licks. You think I could get decent sound quality from just 1 c1000?
Thanks for your help, all the best.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2007, 04:24 AM
Garvin's Avatar
Garvin Garvin is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern USA
Posts: 1,943
Default Re: Just 1 AKG C1000?

I have the same exact problem... I recorded this with the same mic.

Click here to hear track

I just took one of the tunes off the John Riley Art of Bop Drumming CD and put it in Garageband, then recorded the drums over it. So, don't think the whole band was recorded into the one mic. But still, I think it sounds okay for a jazz track. It might be lacking in a genre that requires more depth or tone from each individual drum. I use this mic live when I play congas with other groups too.

I'd like to know how to use it more effectively, but it's a fairly versatile mic even for a novice in the sound engineering arts. If anyone has any tips please let us both know.

Last edited by Garvin; 07-09-2007 at 04:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2007, 02:50 AM
ermghoti ermghoti is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 635
Default Re: Just 1 AKG C1000?

Why not get a matched pair of good-sounding condensors for $50 + shipping?

d/l sample

Full band with drums recorded with MSH-1 pair only.

Sounds good on acoustic guitar, too
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2007, 03:36 AM
Garvin's Avatar
Garvin Garvin is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern USA
Posts: 1,943
Default Re: Just 1 AKG C1000?

Good sounding recording. Only two mics huh? Nice job. The AKG's are only $150, relatively cheap. Maybe using one of them as an overhead and then getting a couple more to cover the toms?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-11-2007, 10:33 AM
TitanSound's Avatar
TitanSound TitanSound is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Just 1 AKG C1000?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ermghoti View Post
Why not get a matched pair of good-sounding condensors for $50 + shipping?

d/l sample

Full band with drums recorded with MSH-1 pair only.

Sounds good on acoustic guitar, too
Wow...thats not bad at all for just 2 mics.

Where abouts did you have them positioned?
__________________
"Sometimes I wake up at night and wonder where the hell the worlds going too"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-11-2007, 07:52 PM
ermghoti ermghoti is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 635
Default Re: Just 1 AKG C1000?

Oops! Should have specified: it wasn't me!

My opinion is based on these clips and others, but I have no trouble getting a good image of a kit with just a pair of condensors. I will buy 2-4 of these things someday, but I have my eye on a lot of small to large purchases...

More on the cheap mics, info on the clips, etc.

Thread

Search the site for more.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-13-2007, 04:29 AM
JIM_fear JIM_fear is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 158
Default Re: Just 1 AKG C1000?

I agree. I have a pair of the now discontinued MSH-10s which are pretty close to the MSH-1s. They are great budget mics. Just make sure you have some quality pres and a nice room.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-14-2007, 04:24 PM
ghuyuiq ghuyuiq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: Just 1 AKG C1000?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JIM_fear View Post
I agree. I have a pair of the now discontinued MSH-10s which are pretty close to the MSH-1s. They are great budget mics. Just make sure you have some quality pres and a nice room.
What exactly do you mean with press?
I'm sorry I don't know but I have the same budget problem and I would like to know it...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-14-2007, 05:38 PM
Mediocrefunkybeat
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Just 1 AKG C1000?

Pre's. He means preamps. Basically, microphones are only half the story. Because of the low output level of microphones, the signal has to be boosted using a preamp. A bad preamp will make any microphone sound bad. A good preamp will make most microphones sound good or at least acceptable. They are as important as the microphone selection.

Most desks or audio interfaces will have preamps of a reasonably quality built in. You can, however, buy separate preamps like the Presonus TubePre. These can be expensive when bought individually. Usually those found in a semi-decent desk will get the job done.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-14-2007, 07:14 PM
ghuyuiq ghuyuiq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: Just 1 AKG C1000?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mediocrefunkybeat View Post
Pre's. He means preamps. Basically, microphones are only half the story. Because of the low output level of microphones, the signal has to be boosted using a preamp. A bad preamp will make any microphone sound bad. A good preamp will make most microphones sound good or at least acceptable. They are as important as the microphone selection.

Most desks or audio interfaces will have preamps of a reasonably quality built in. You can, however, buy separate preamps like the Presonus TubePre. These can be expensive when bought individually. Usually those found in a semi-decent desk will get the job done.
So is Presonus TubePre the best preamp you can buy?
Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-14-2007, 08:03 PM
JIM_fear JIM_fear is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 158
Default Re: Just 1 AKG C1000?

No, the Presonus pres are actually pretty cheap in terms of dedicated preamps. The best preamps will cost you about $3000-6000. Your best bet if you are on a budget is to go with an interface or mixer. Most of the Behringer products have decent preamps and are relatively cheap. You can go with a Presonus firepod which has decent preamps as well and will allow you to send 8 tracks to your computer simultaneously through firewire. It all depends on your budget though and how many mics you plan on using
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com