DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-28-2007, 03:46 AM
PreppieNerd's Avatar
PreppieNerd PreppieNerd is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 668
Default What Metronome do you use?

I am considering buying a metronome, and would like to hear what you guys choose to use. I also want to know some suggestions. I will continue researching myself, but I just wanted your input.

I'm looking for something that I can plug headphones into (or otherwise make it so only I can hear it) Different metes, subdivisions etc. I also don't want anything too bulky. Is there a metronome that can store presets so you can quickly change tempos with ease like say one song is 120 and the next is 86, and you want to switch directly, is there any metronome with that? I also saw one where you can tap out a tempo and it will measure it for you, however, all it gave you was the bpm, and nothing else, Is there another metronome that does that and the other stuff I want. Thanks for your input.
__________________
I make music here: Another White Suburbanite, and here: Finlay Fields
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2007, 06:11 AM
Skitch's Avatar
Skitch Skitch is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

What I use isn't made anymore but, I prefer the Boss DB-12 or the older Seiko DM-20 with the soft face touch keys, not the newer ones. the only advantage the Rhythmwatch has on these is the store feature. Otherwise, the Rhythmwatch is crap to me.



Mike

http://www.mikemccraw.com
http://www.dominoretroplate.com

http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=drummermikemccraw
http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm...endid=78564594
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2007, 05:33 PM
tamadrummer132's Avatar
tamadrummer132 tamadrummer132 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 934
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

i use metronome tracks on my ipod that i got from a very friendly drummer on this forum.
__________________
CHRISTIAN DRUMMERS ARMY
muauahauha.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2007, 09:50 PM
Drumms's Avatar
Drumms Drumms is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 222
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

Whatever metronome you buy, I suggest you don't buy this one:



It's a Korg MM-2 that you put on your ear. I've a pretty bad experience with it:
- That thing doesn't fit on my ear very well - it's either hurting if put far on the ear, either falls off too easily.
- It's pretty hard to set a precise tempo (you can't just type a number, you must add or subtract 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 7 to the value of the tempo.)
- it may look sturdy, but it's not, its very light and thin plastic and that ear thing will soon break.
- One day it just stopped working. In total I must have used it for an hour or two of practice time.

I must have paid 20 euros for this thing and I totally regret it.
__________________
istanbulsabianstaggyamahapearlvicfirth
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2007, 05:48 PM
Rickk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

I use the Yamaha Clickstation, but have not taken the time to figure out how to take advantage of all the settings and options, I do plug the headset jack into an AMP and keep the click going along with music while I practice it actually keeps me in time , believe it or not :)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2007, 06:51 PM
stepan jazzy stepan jazzy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 8
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

At home i use computer ( reason or fruity loops ) and on the road i use my mobile phone metronome. But it`s not good because it is too quiet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-29-2007, 10:06 PM
bonzolead's Avatar
bonzolead bonzolead is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Clarkston,MI.
Posts: 2,200
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

I use my heart...........................


Bonzolead
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2007, 01:25 AM
ermghoti ermghoti is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 635
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonzolead View Post
I use my heart...........................


Bonzolead
Just remember, if you suddenly stop playing, call an ambulance immediately.

I have a Korg MA-30. Not too pricey, loud (+ a headphone jack) lots of time sigs, tap tempo option. Fine by me.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-30-2007, 01:45 AM
Jeff Almeyda's Avatar
Jeff Almeyda Jeff Almeyda is offline
Senior Consultant
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonzolead View Post
I use my heart...........................


Bonzolead
Is that a euphemism for "I can't play to a click"?
__________________
Either you have a purpose behind your expression... or you don't.
JoJo Mayer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-30-2007, 01:53 AM
PreppieNerd's Avatar
PreppieNerd PreppieNerd is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 668
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

Hey, I saw the Boss DB-30 Dr. Beat, and it looks good. Does anyone have any experience with it?
__________________
I make music here: Another White Suburbanite, and here: Finlay Fields
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-30-2007, 08:01 PM
morbius25's Avatar
morbius25 morbius25 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 197
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonzolead View Post
I use my heart...........................


Bonzolead
Wow, that must keep you on your toes too......if you get your heart rate going, you can just speed up.
__________________
Ahh the internet, where men are men, women are men, and children are cops.......
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-30-2007, 08:09 PM
Mapex589's Avatar
Mapex589 Mapex589 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 697
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

I use the Tama Rhythm Watch.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-30-2007, 08:17 PM
bonzolead's Avatar
bonzolead bonzolead is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Clarkston,MI.
Posts: 2,200
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Almeyda View Post
Is that a euphemism for "I can't play to a click"?
No I don't. need a click or bic or flick I think i'm starting to get sick LOL

Bonzolead
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-30-2007, 08:20 PM
bonzolead's Avatar
bonzolead bonzolead is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Clarkston,MI.
Posts: 2,200
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ermghoti View Post
Just remember, if you suddenly stop playing, call an ambulance immediately.

I have a Korg MA-30. Not too pricey, loud (+ a headphone jack) lots of time sigs, tap tempo option. Fine by me.
That's right seriously you should be able to feel the timing.It's. good for begineers though.

Bonzolead
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-30-2007, 09:30 PM
PreppieNerd's Avatar
PreppieNerd PreppieNerd is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 668
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

I'm not saying I have bad timing, I just want to get used to it if I'm ever in a studio situation, and use will no doubt improve my time immensely.
__________________
I make music here: Another White Suburbanite, and here: Finlay Fields
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-31-2007, 04:28 AM
drozzy's Avatar
drozzy drozzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

I use a cheap no name one, it does its job, chromatic tuner for toms, metronome, variable tempo, variable meter.

All for 25 australian dollars.

My only gripe, the click is in mono, so i have to use mono earphones so i dont go crazy on the left side of my brain.
__________________
Gretsch - Silverfox - Meinl - Janus - Gibraltar - Evans
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-05-2007, 07:05 AM
Skitch's Avatar
Skitch Skitch is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 2,737
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PreppieNerd View Post
I'm not saying I have bad timing, I just want to get used to it if I'm ever in a studio situation, and use will no doubt improve my time immensely.

No problemo....any serious drummer is giong to have to learn to use a click or a metronome sooner or later and if you start now, or have already started, it will only improve your playing. You will also eventually notice other players (bass or guitarists) who have bad time. And I have met only one guitar player in my life who has admitted to practicing to a metronome on a daily basis! And he is the best guitarist I have ever worked with!

Mike

http://www.mikemccraw.com
http://www.dominoretroplate.com

http://www.youtube.com/drummermikemccraw
http://www.myspace.com/drummermikemccraw
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-05-2007, 08:32 AM
Wavelength's Avatar
Wavelength Wavelength is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,048
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

Tama Rhythm Watch, model 2020202020.
__________________
I play Kumu Drums. I also shoot videos.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-05-2007, 08:38 AM
teejcombos teejcombos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 110
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

i just crank up the metronome on my programming software, or i use the click track on my school's dtxpress II.

download fruityloops, any version. the demo versions should pose no problem. turn on the metronome setting, don't put anything on any of the channels, set your tempo, click play. free metronome.
__________________
Jazz music is like the new Coca-Cola.... It'll be around forever.

My kit
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-05-2007, 01:19 PM
Pocketman's Avatar
Pocketman Pocketman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 223
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

I use the Tama Rhythm Watch for practice pad work and rehearsals/gigs because you can program and save the tempos.

When practicing the set I use a Samson drum machine. There are a couple of things I like about it. One is I like to have my quarter note click as a bass guitar line. I have found that the slightly extra length of the sound offers more comfort than a staccato "click" sound which allows my time to breathe a little bit yet still be focused. Not to mention that on a gig I am playing to a bass and not a click!

Also, if I am working on a hard excersise or beat (ala Garibaldi) I like to program it into the drum machine. This way I can hear it as I am learning it and can make it as slow or as fast as I like.
__________________
"There are vitamins in volume." - Tony Williams
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 04-09-2007, 06:34 AM
furbeedog@gmail.com furbeedog@gmail.com is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 147
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

for just practicing if you don't need specific programming or odd time sigs check out
http://www.metronomeonline.com/
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-18-2007, 12:32 AM
drumnhands drumnhands is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 24
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

I use the Yamaha Click Station. It stores lots of tempos and patterns(way more than the Tama), it has two headphone inputs, tap tempo, a lighted display. It also has this cool pad that vibrates the tempo so if you're at a gig where you can use the audible click or see the lights you can still get a tempo to count off. I also like practicing to a drum machine though because you can quantize it to change the feel so it's good for getting the feel of playing to a click for the studio.....and you have a lot more choices for what sound you want. Something like a shaker is more relaxing to play to, sometimes a solid cick can get annoying.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-19-2007, 12:02 PM
frank0072's Avatar
frank0072 frank0072 is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,169
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

I was wondering what the Metronomeonline counts: does it do 2 & 4 or 1,2,3,4, or just the 1?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-12-2007, 07:35 PM
el presidente's Avatar
el presidente el presidente is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 48
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

HIgher end metronomes (clickstation, boss db-90) will count the 1 the 2&4, the "and's", or all 4 beats with and accent on the 1. whatever you need it to.

I use the db-90 because it seems to be only one I can program to change meter and time signature at a certain measure count. But, It's kind of a pain in the ass to proram. Does anyone know of another metronome that does this better? Example: I have several songs that change tempo and time signature one more times during the song and need the metronome to change with me.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-14-2007, 02:20 PM
bfrancese's Avatar
bfrancese bfrancese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 99
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mapex589 View Post
I use the Tama Rhythm Watch.
Me too!

I think it is a bit pricey, but it is extremely easy to use...especially on the fly if you are gigging. I have found it is a great metronome for gigs. You program it, change time signatures and the sound all at an incredibly quick and easy pace.

B
__________________

______________

GMS/RMV + Meinl + Vic Firth = My Setup
SILVERMUSICONLINE = My Band
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-18-2007, 03:00 AM
hauk's Avatar
hauk hauk is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 814
Default Re: What Metronome do you use?

I use a korg that's alright, but I wish I'd gone for something nicer. The Dr. Beats are really nice, I've used them before.
__________________
"We should print up T-shirts! And F-shirts for our friends with two arms on the same side!"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com