DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-19-2017, 11:34 AM
JohnoWorld
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Trigger a drum sample without a brain?

Hey

Thought I'd post here as my internet search proved fruitless:

I jam with a new band soon and for the first session it's in someone's front room. I don't want to take my full kit and I have everything but a spare kick drum.

I do have a Roland kick pad however, but I don't have a drum brain to go with it.

Is it possible to trigger a sample from a laptop without going through a drum brain into the computer?

The trigger outputs to a jack but obviously the midi connection is missing.

I'm just going to use a snare/hat/crash/ride from my acoustic kit, but use an electric kick pad through the PA.

I did this before but used the drum brain. I just need to know how I can do this without using a drum brain.

Is there like a converter I can buy

All help appreciated

cheers
Johno
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2017, 11:41 AM
JohnoWorld
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Trigger a drum sample without a brain?

perhaps something like the Ddrum DDTi but a little cheaper
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2017, 12:14 PM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 8,612
Default Re: Trigger a drum sample without a brain?

Roland made/makes a trigger-midi box, that converts trigger signals to midi. But you need a midi-usb converter, and a real audio output box from the laptop. Not to mention the hassle (and potential issues of) of bringing your laptop to a gig.

Why not get an all-in-one pad/module that lets you load your own samples? You can plug in plug in your trigger, and have additional pad & sound options without fiddling with the laptop.

Bermuda
__________________
DrumDoug: "I've tried talking to the guys about our stage volume, but it just falls on deaf ears"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2017, 06:13 PM
Galaxy Galaxy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 103
Default Re: Trigger a drum sample without a brain?

Roland TM-2 is the cheapest option I have seen. Plug your kick pad into that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2017, 10:42 PM
JohnoWorld
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Trigger a drum sample without a brain?

Cool cheers gentlemen, will check em oot
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2017, 11:19 PM
Dr_Watso's Avatar
Dr_Watso Dr_Watso is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6,153
Default Re: Trigger a drum sample without a brain?

If Lars can play in the largest metal band in the world without a brain, I think you can manage this.
__________________
"I always wanted to be remembered for; being honest. Nothing else is worth a damn." - Lemmy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2017, 12:50 AM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 8,612
Default Re: Trigger a drum sample without a brain?

I see what you did there. :O
__________________
DrumDoug: "I've tried talking to the guys about our stage volume, but it just falls on deaf ears"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2017, 02:13 AM
wildbill's Avatar
wildbill wildbill is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Midwest - USA
Posts: 6,587
Default Re: Trigger a drum sample without a brain?

The TM-2 is essentially a scaled back brain. It's got midi in/out, but not usb, so you'd still need a midi interface for your computer.
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/TM2

For a few bucks more, you can get a full brain with usb out.
https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/DTX502

That way you won't get "that guy's got half a brain" jokes.

Whichever route you go, you'll still need something to amplify whichever sound you choose to use - computer vst or brain.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-21-2017, 06:27 AM
lefty2's Avatar
lefty2 lefty2 is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I live in near Wichita, Kansas U.S.A
Posts: 2,149
Default Re: Trigger a drum sample without a brain?

Why not get an all-in-one pad/module that lets you load your own samples? You can plug in plug in your trigger, and have additional pad & sound options without fiddling with the laptop.

Bermuda[/quote]

My kids got me an Alessis sample pad a couple of yrs ago. I was going to tell you that they were really cheap, but just now looked one up and it was $400. However I did see an Alessis sample pad for $179. I won't say it's good as mine but, it should do what you're wanting, and you have 2 pads for other sounds(mine has 4) on top of triggering your kick. That's all I wanted one for, was to trigger my kick. I don't trigger it with my country band, but I use the pads for special effects and a couple of percussion sounds. They are way cool. One band I was with, I sampled a helicopter crash off their CD at the start of a song, and used it live. That made me the man. lol
__________________
Tama SC performer 2003 5pc.
Yamaha PTC 1988 5pc.
Zildjian A, K
Sabian AA,AAX,HH,
Paiste Sig.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2017, 09:45 AM
JohnoWorld
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Trigger a drum sample without a brain?

Thanks again guys.

I've been thinking about octapads, spds etc as well. Not really arsed with loading own samples as it's only for practice

Some interesting options on eBay too
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-21-2017, 02:11 PM
wildbill's Avatar
wildbill wildbill is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Midwest - USA
Posts: 6,587
Default Re: Trigger a drum sample without a brain?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnoWorld View Post
Thanks again guys.

I've been thinking about octapads, spds etc as well. Not really arsed with loading own samples as it's only for practice

Some interesting options on eBay too

I was going to suggest a multi-pad set, but you seemed specific on what you wanted.

I have Yamaha Multi-12, and Roland SPD-30 pad sets, and they do everything I could ask for.

If you want to go less expensive, I'd suggest something from Alesis.
Yamaha makes some inexpensive pad sets too, like the DD-55 (discontinued) or DD -65.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com