DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-15-2014, 11:22 AM
rjw rjw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Default DTX 502 adding a third 3 zone cymbal

I am wondering if anyone has tried to add a 3 zone cymbal, and have gotten all 3 zones to work?

With ALL of the true 3 zone inputs already used (snare, ride, crash, Hihat), the conventional way would be to plug into the Bass drum pedal or Y jack one of the toms, but this would only result in a 1 zone cymbal.

My thoughts are to move one of the toms (y jack) and then plug my extra cymbal into the (now open) port, which should result in a 2 zone cymbal.

Any thoughts on if it is possible to get the 3rd zone working as well?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2014, 03:28 AM
rmandelbaum's Avatar
rmandelbaum rmandelbaum is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,043
Default Re: DTX 502 adding a third 3 zone cymbal

I am not familiar with that brain but, if you have 3 dual zone pads that can go single and use y cables on them it should work.
__________________
DW Collectors
Vintage Superstars
Roland TD-20
Misc. Snares
My Web Site
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2014, 06:05 AM
rjw rjw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Default Re: DTX 502 adding a third 3 zone cymbal

What I have is the 1 extra 3 zone cymbal. All the zones have 1/4" stereo plugs. I will test later, but my suspicion (and hope) is that on the stereo cable, ring is 1 zone, tip another, and perhaps a signal to both simultaneously would trigger the 3rd zone???

Unfortunately, only the snare, ride and crash inputs have 3 zone capability (from what I think that I read).

I have a plan that should get me 2 zones, but if I could get the 3rd, it will be great.

I am almost finished setting up the kit. Only the wiring left and it will be showtime.

If everything works, I'll move on to the extra cymbal!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2014, 07:11 AM
rjw rjw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Default Re: DTX 502 adding a third 3 zone cymbal

Everything works, so I am moving on to the extra cymbal....btw: this kit sounds great!! at least to me
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2014, 01:09 PM
rtliquid rtliquid is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 193
Default Re: DTX 502 adding a third 3 zone cymbal

Have you posted in www.dtxperience.com? Their forums are a pretty good resource (if you can put up with the spam posts). I'm on the dtxtreme iis forum, and I'm pretty sure I ran across a post in the past where someone explained how to accomplish what you're looking for. Hopefully, it would apply to your brain as well.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2014, 06:14 PM
rjw rjw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Default Re: DTX 502 adding a third 3 zone cymbal

In searching the net, I did pass thru , but it was mostly about older stuff, so .....I will go back and look


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2014, 12:05 AM
Bobrush Bobrush is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 177
Default Re: DTX 502 adding a third 3 zone cymbal

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtliquid View Post
Have you posted in www.dtxperience.com? Their forums are a pretty good resource (if you can put up with the spam posts). I'm on the dtxtreme iis forum, and I'm pretty sure I ran across a post in the past where someone explained how to accomplish what you're looking for. Hopefully, it would apply to your brain as well.
I have occasionally looked (and even posted) at www.dtxperience.com, but it seems to suffer from really low participation. Not a lot of interesting or helpful stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-20-2014, 05:19 AM
Hansolo's Avatar
Hansolo Hansolo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 108
Default Re: DTX 502 adding a third 3 zone cymbal

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjw View Post
What I have is the 1 extra 3 zone cymbal. All the zones have 1/4" stereo plugs. I will test later, but my suspicion (and hope) is that on the stereo cable, ring is 1 zone, tip another, and perhaps a signal to both simultaneously would trigger the 3rd zone???

Unfortunately, only the snare, ride and crash inputs have 3 zone capability (from what I think that I read).

I have a plan that should get me 2 zones, but if I could get the 3rd, it will be great.
You could possibly simulate a 3rd cymbal zone by setting a velocity cross-fade between layers A & B for the cymbal trigger input (as detailed on manual page 52).
Maybe try the “XFade9” setting to switch between sounds like a cymbal bow/edge on layer A and a bell/cup on layer B when the cymbal is hit harder.
Yamaha have used a similar technique with their 'Cmb' cymbal sounds in the Multi-12 kits.

Last edited by Hansolo; 05-20-2014 at 01:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-21-2014, 02:52 AM
rjw rjw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Default Re: DTX 502 adding a third 3 zone cymbal

Thanks, I'll give it a try. So far, at several points I got 2 zones working, and it seemed fine, but after playing for a while, the 2nd zone was tough to trigger???

AT the moment, I'm up to a 9 piece set, so almost a full house anyhow
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com