DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-25-2014, 04:46 AM
beyondbetrayal beyondbetrayal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 330
Default Replace cone in a TD20 or TD30 mesh drum

I just replaced a cone in my PD125X snare drum and figured I'd videotape it for those nervous about taking their drums apart. It was pretty easy and only takes 10 - 15 minutes or so to do... Maybe a few more if your slow or take your time.

I have to say for under $10 from Roland it did a good job of making my hot spot much less noticeable

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kyLp3Da60uw
.

Last edited by beyondbetrayal; 03-25-2014 at 02:32 PM. Reason: link
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2014, 09:51 PM
Mongrel Mongrel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 77
Default Re: Replace cone in a TD20 or TD30 mesh drum

Wow...talk about timing..

I was asking the guy at GC if anyone made a rebuild kit for Roland pads that had replacement foam cones (my original PD-80 pad cones on my TD-8 are breaking down). He looked at me and said..."well that's why they replaced them with mesh heads." Ok...yea...hmmm...have a nice night...

Anyway THANKS man!

Oh-by the way, do you have a link to where you purchased the replacement cone? I've searched Roland and found nothing in the way of parts...

Last edited by Mongrel; 03-27-2014 at 10:06 PM. Reason: ask a question...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2014, 12:32 AM
toddmc's Avatar
toddmc toddmc is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 1,131
Default Re: Replace cone in a TD20 or TD30 mesh drum

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongrel View Post
Oh-by the way, do you have a link to where you purchased the replacement cone? I've searched Roland and found nothing in the way of parts...
These should do the job (not Roland but a hell of a lot cheaper)!
http://www.quartzpercussions.com/#!p.../one-foam-cone
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2014, 02:11 AM
Mongrel Mongrel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 77
Default Re: Replace cone in a TD20 or TD30 mesh drum

Quote:
Originally Posted by toddmc View Post
These should do the job (not Roland but a hell of a lot cheaper)!
http://www.quartzpercussions.com/#!p.../one-foam-cone
VERY cool...thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2014, 06:32 AM
beyondbetrayal beyondbetrayal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 330
Default Re: Replace cone in a TD20 or TD30 mesh drum

I was going to use quartz,,,,,, I just sent an email to Roland. Get ahold of their parts or service department. They will send you that in an email if you ask.

$5 from quartz,,,,,, $8 from Roland........ its pretty close so I figured Id use OEM and not risk it. I'm sure they are the same though. What's an extra $15 to fix an Ekit worth a few g's. hahaha.

either way. they exist. because they use them in the td30.

good luck!

I'm in Canada so I emailed Roland and got the CANADIAN parts department.... It wont help you I'm guessing.

sometimes I feel like the Yamaha pads would be nice to get..... even for just a snare
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com