DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-10-2014, 05:54 AM
Yamaha41's Avatar
Yamaha41 Yamaha41 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 205
Default Snare upgrade

Been playing on a Pd8 for years now just ordered this.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/drums...v-black-chrome


I'm sure I will like it only this I worry about is how light it is and weather it will move around when I play it since its not on a fixed stand.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2014, 03:29 AM
Hansolo's Avatar
Hansolo Hansolo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 98
Default Re: Snare upgrade

The PD-128S-BC is more than twice the weight of a PD-8 pad and is designed to be snare-stand mountable - also the image doesn't show a mounting clamp.
Are you intending to use it with a TD-30 Drum Sound Module to detect optimal dynamics and rim-shot depth from this V-pad?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2014, 04:28 AM
Yamaha41's Avatar
Yamaha41 Yamaha41 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 205
Default Re: Snare upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hansolo View Post
The PD-128S-BC is more than twice the weight of a PD-8 pad and is designed to be snare-stand mountable - also the image doesn't show a mounting clamp.
Are you intending to use it with a TD-30 Drum Sound Module to detect optimal dynamics and rim-shot depth from this V-pad?
I wish I had a TD-30 to be honest I have a TD-4 but only use it to get midi notes to Addictive Drums. I have not heard a TD-30 but I like the sounds from Addictive more then a TD--20 so for the money I'm happy. And as for optimal dynamics my playing level does not require that ATM. I would hope it's heaver then the pd8 but is it heavy enough to be on a snare stand and not bounce around ( seen it doing so in a vid) a fixed stand would stop that just not sure if I require it or not yet as it's being shipped. Other then cymbals and snare my set is DIY the tom's and bass work great but I don't feel A DIY snare is good enough only went this route because I would rather the drums feel as real as they can and with the snare being 12" that itself sold me.When you say doesn't show a mounting clamp do you mean it comes with one? Didn't know if that's the case.

My Kit
[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2014, 04:52 AM
Hansolo's Avatar
Hansolo Hansolo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 98
Default Re: Snare upgrade

Taking a closer look at the V-pad image I'm thinking there's probably a cover over where a mounting clamp could be attached.
Perhaps someone with more Roland experience can confirm if that's correct or not.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2014, 05:12 AM
Yamaha41's Avatar
Yamaha41 Yamaha41 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 205
Default Re: Snare upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hansolo View Post
Taking a closer look at the V-pad image I'm thinking there's probably a cover over where a mounting clamp could be attached.
Perhaps someone with more Roland experience can confirm if that's correct or not.
Manual says the PD-128s has no mount would have been cool if it to be attached. There is a version for 529.99 that has it but it's huge not really interested if it moves around to much on the stand been looking for a reason to get this maybe this is it. Will hold the tom and snare in a fixed position.

http://www.gibraltarhardware.com/?fa...sid=616&cid=31
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-11-2014, 05:17 AM
Yamaha41's Avatar
Yamaha41 Yamaha41 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 205
Default Re: Snare upgrade

Though I do think I may have a crosstalk problem with it. If I'm using the right term. Do you think rimshots will trigger the DIY tom mounted to the same stand?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2014, 08:10 AM
Hansolo's Avatar
Hansolo Hansolo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 98
Default Re: Snare upgrade

I'd only be guessing about possible cross-triggering issues but I seem to recall previous posts about adjusting module settings for pad Threshold or Xtalk Cancel to fix the problem.
You could also add some padding between the snare pad/tom and snare baskets if required.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2014, 02:11 PM
Yamaha41's Avatar
Yamaha41 Yamaha41 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 205
Default Re: Snare upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hansolo View Post
I'd only be guessing about possible cross-triggering issues but I seem to recall previous posts about adjusting module settings for pad Threshold or Xtalk Cancel to fix the problem.
You could also add some padding between the snare pad/tom and snare baskets if required.
Thanks for the help bro I tend to overthink things I can adjust all the setting already just thinking about it too much before I even have the stuff in my hands.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com