DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-01-2014, 12:20 AM
Brotato Chip Brotato Chip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 48
Default Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 help?

I'm trying to record with a basic 4 mic setup for now (bass, snare, overheads). I have a Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 interface and I'm trying to record onto Mixcraft 6. My problem is that only 2 channels are showing up, the left and the right, which allows me to only arm 2 out of 4 mics. I thought it was the software so I quickly downloaded Audacity and I'm having the same problem. The interface is a usb 2.0 and it has 8 xlr inputs, I've ran through the settings and preferences several times but there's got to be something that I'm missing or simply misunderstanding. If anyone wants to relieve me of my stupidity it would be greatly appreciated!

Probably unnecessary information-
Bass Drum mic- Audix d6
Snare Drum mic- Audix i5
Overhead mics- Rode NT5 (x2)

Computer specs-
i7 processor
8 GB memory
1 TB hard drive
Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2014, 12:36 AM
Souljacker Souljacker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ireland
Posts: 452
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brotato Chip View Post
I'm trying to record with a basic 4 mic setup for now (bass, snare, overheads). I have a Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 interface and I'm trying to record onto Mixcraft 6. My problem is that only 2 channels are showing up, the left and the right, which allows me to only arm 2 out of 4 mics. I thought it was the software so I quickly downloaded Audacity and I'm having the same problem. The interface is a usb 2.0 and it has 8 xlr inputs, I've ran through the settings and preferences several times but there's got to be something that I'm missing or simply misunderstanding. If anyone wants to relieve me of my stupidity it would be greatly appreciated!

Probably unnecessary information-
Bass Drum mic- Audix d6
Snare Drum mic- Audix i5
Overhead mics- Rode NT5 (x2)

Computer specs-
i7 processor
8 GB memory
1 TB hard drive
Windows 7
Just a guess, It could be you need a power supply plugged into the interface as well as the USB connection. For my M Audio card, in order to access all the inputs and outputs I need to have my ac adaptor connected also. Hope this helps you.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com