DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-17-2013, 01:25 PM
dakevster dakevster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Default DTX900 Config-Changing outputs when using Individual Outputs

Looking for anyone with some deep DTX900 module config knowhow. Have a DTX950K kit and am struggling with a configuration. I'm using the IndOutAssign in the Utility menu to configure it to use 8 outputs, feeding into a mixer (Kick, Snare, Hihat, Tom L/R, Cymbal L/R, Misc). That config sets Toms to Indv3 (L) and Indv4 (R). I have set the top Rim on the toms set for some percussion (Tom 1 Rim is Tamborine, Tom 2 Rim is Cowbell).

I want to get some reverb on the percussion, but as I understand it in IndvOutAssign 6/8-ch mode, the internal DTX900 controller effects can't be used. So given that, I want to change the tom rim source to another output, the "Misc" output Indv6, so on my mixer I can only put the reverb on the Indv 6 percussion (I don't want the reverb on the actual Toms), and allow me to mix the percussion volume separate from the Toms. I go into the Voice for the tom rim source, to the OutputSel and try changing it to Indv6, and save the kit to a Usr kit. It shows it is changed, but the output of the tom rims is still with the rest of the toms on Indv3 and 4.

Does anyone know either how to use the effects while using the individual outputs, or know how to change a specific source (tom rim) to go to another output, different from the Tom pad or lower rim?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2013, 11:11 PM
DTX Product Specialist DTX Product Specialist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 59
Default Re: DTX900 Config-Changing outputs when using Individual Outputs

Quote:
Originally Posted by dakevster View Post
Looking for anyone with some deep DTX900 module config knowhow. Have a DTX950K kit and am struggling with a configuration. I'm using the IndOutAssign in the Utility menu to configure it to use 8 outputs, feeding into a mixer (Kick, Snare, Hihat, Tom L/R, Cymbal L/R, Misc). That config sets Toms to Indv3 (L) and Indv4 (R). I have set the top Rim on the toms set for some percussion (Tom 1 Rim is Tamborine, Tom 2 Rim is Cowbell).

I want to get some reverb on the percussion, but as I understand it in IndvOutAssign 6/8-ch mode, the internal DTX900 controller effects can't be used. So given that, I want to change the tom rim source to another output, the "Misc" output Indv6, so on my mixer I can only put the reverb on the Indv 6 percussion (I don't want the reverb on the actual Toms), and allow me to mix the percussion volume separate from the Toms. I go into the Voice for the tom rim source, to the OutputSel and try changing it to Indv6, and save the kit to a Usr kit. It shows it is changed, but the output of the tom rims is still with the rest of the toms on Indv3 and 4.

Does anyone know either how to use the effects while using the individual outputs, or know how to change a specific source (tom rim) to go to another output, different from the Tom pad or lower rim?

Hi,

The effects section on the DTX900 module only goes to the main L/R outputs so the best set up for this application is to not use the global individual out function in the utility menu. Instead create a custom kit(s) that use the individual outs for kick, snare, tom, etc then assign the percussion to the desired tom rim with the output set to L/R +Phones. Then the voice can be sent to the effects for processing. Also assign the percussion voice to the misc slider to have independent volume control.

Hope this helps,

DTX Product Specialist
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-18-2013, 01:37 AM
dakevster dakevster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Default Re: DTX900 Config-Changing outputs when using Individual Outputs

Thanks for the reply back. I should have been a bit more clear on priorities. I'm doing multi-track recording, so having to take the drums all together through a stereo feed would severely limit mixdown options. If I can't get the individual sources (top tom rim for example) redirected to the Misc. out Indv6 dry, then second best option would be to have the DTX apply some reverb before outputting the percussion on the Tom L/R indv 3/4 channels. My ideal solution would be 8-channel Indv outputs, with a given source (top tom rim) going to the Misc. channel, and then apply effects during mixdown. You addressed that reverb can't go on Indv outputs (only stereo L/R), but didn't specifically say there's no way to redirect a given source to another Indv output other than the default.

If that's not an option, what about if I got an addition pad like a TP70 and plugged into a spare input? Can that be set to go to Indv6 Misc. output?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2013, 09:57 PM
DTX Product Specialist DTX Product Specialist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 59
Default Re: DTX900 Config-Changing outputs when using Individual Outputs

Quote:
Originally Posted by dakevster View Post
Thanks for the reply back. I should have been a bit more clear on priorities. I'm doing multi-track recording, so having to take the drums all together through a stereo feed would severely limit mixdown options. If I can't get the individual sources (top tom rim for example) redirected to the Misc. out Indv6 dry, then second best option would be to have the DTX apply some reverb before outputting the percussion on the Tom L/R indv 3/4 channels. My ideal solution would be 8-channel Indv outputs, with a given source (top tom rim) going to the Misc. channel, and then apply effects during mixdown. You addressed that reverb can't go on Indv outputs (only stereo L/R), but didn't specifically say there's no way to redirect a given source to another Indv output other than the default.

If that's not an option, what about if I got an addition pad like a TP70 and plugged into a spare input? Can that be set to go to Indv6 Misc. output?
For a multitrack option with no effects:

With the individual assignment turned off in the utility section:

Go to the Out-tune of each pad and select source (SF5) to get individual zones. Then you can assign specific zones to the desire individual output.

If you need a zone with effects you will have to sent it the L/R + Phones.

Hope this helps,

DTX Product Specialist
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com