DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Electronic Drums

Electronic Drums All about Electronic Drums

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #41  
Old 05-03-2013, 03:54 PM
Garvin's Avatar
Garvin Garvin is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern USA
Posts: 1,946
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

Just so you know, you can buy the 8 pad Alesis sample pad for $159 brand new, and the 4 pad for $99.
__________________
http://www.gregvdrums.com
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 05-03-2013, 04:45 PM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garvin View Post
Just so you know, you can buy the 8 pad Alesis sample pad for $159 brand new, and the 4 pad for $99.
The SamplePad is 4 pads (and a foot pedal trigger input) like the PercPad. But $159 is a great price!

Bermuda
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 05-03-2013, 05:02 PM
2bsticks's Avatar
2bsticks 2bsticks is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Waltham Ma
Posts: 1,045
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

Well, ok then $125.00, that better :-) The mount alone cost me $15.00 and the card was another $10.00 so I think that's more than fair!
__________________
DW Performance, Magstar Drums, 1971 Slingerlands, Zildjian, Sabian, Paiste, Vic Firth, Remo
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 05-09-2013, 02:23 PM
bongoz bongoz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Default Re: Samples not playing Alesis SamplePad

Having problems playing samples via sd card. My samples seem to load fine as i seem them in the display, but all i get is a clicking sound ,like others here have experienced. Tried every suggestion i found with no results. Internal sounds are ok. Bit/sample rates, mono, format to fat32,sample named correctly, and copied to root of card. Samples converted using several audio programs as well as Audacity. Unfortunately no luck. Would it be possible for someone to send me a couple of short samples that actually work on their pads so i can confirm whether it's a sample issue or problem with the pad? Any more suggestions?..Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 05-09-2013, 04:42 PM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

Not sure why the pad would read the card but not play the samples, and I should mention here that the pad is kinda picky about the type/size card you use. I haven't troubleshot the right specs, but I know that some cards work, and some don't. But, if the card wasn't working, you wouldn't even see the sample names or be able to go through the loading process.

So, I don't know why your samples won't play, I haven't experienced that. If they're 16bit mono .wav files at resolutions like 44.1, 22,050, 11,025hz etc, and the pad sees them, it should play them. Does your pad play its internal sounds?

Bermuda
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 05-09-2013, 11:08 PM
bongoz bongoz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

Finally got my samples to work so won't be needing samples. Seems i forgot to strip the metadata when i converted using Audacity. Metadata editor is under: File->Open Metadata Editor. Not that familiar with Audacity and there was a two word entry there that i removed that did the trick. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08-07-2013, 06:37 PM
nojja nojja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

Hello people. I am considering to buy the Alesis Sample Pad. I just have one question.

Will this handle an insanely low bass drop? I want to be able to do this while playing live gigs.

Here is two examples:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0eCQ9F1OPvs (I want an even longer one tho, more like the one under)

http://youtu.be/I_WgoJj2Oy8?t=4m10s (at 4:10)


Thank you so much in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 08-07-2013, 07:57 PM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

It plays 16/44.1 .wavs (CD standard) so yes it will reproduce it. The bigger concern will be whether your amp or p.a. will handle the lows.

Bermuda
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 08-07-2013, 10:05 PM
nojja nojja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

Quote:
Originally Posted by bermuda View Post
It plays 16/44.1 .wavs (CD standard) so yes it will reproduce it. The bigger concern will be whether your amp or p.a. will handle the lows.

Bermuda
They will. Thank you. Great forum. And you are a hero for being so quick on replies here.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 10-21-2013, 04:43 PM
chr.lau chr.lau is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

Hey,
I bought an Alesis Samplepad. I want to use it as a Start/Stop controller for my backtrack( from the MacBook).
I have tried to do it with Cubase LE5 and an US-122MKII Interface but it does not work.

My question is, what kind of (cheap/free) software I could use or what would you prefer to use in that situation?
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 10-21-2013, 04:48 PM
Garvin's Avatar
Garvin Garvin is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern USA
Posts: 1,946
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

You should be able to at least send midi signals with a cheap 1X1 midi interface. As far as DAW's go, ableton is all I really use. But it should work with Cubase as well. Are you familiar with midi programming?
__________________
http://www.gregvdrums.com
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 12-17-2013, 03:17 PM
marcus marcus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

Hello everyone, I'm new here in the forum and I live in Brazil and would like help from you too, I'm about to buy the Alesis SamplePad, and quite liked that topic, is quite enlightening, congratulations.
But I did not understand the following, each sample should be maximum 14mb or the sum of all samples should have 14mb? and why?
I would be grateful if someone could enlighten me.
Thanks for the help and sorry for bad english lol
Hug!
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 12-17-2013, 04:07 PM
bermuda's Avatar
bermuda bermuda is offline
Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,957
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

The toal of all samples combined cannot exceed 14mb, that's the memory (ram) limit, and part of why the pad is so inexpensive.

It's really made for basic drum hits and short sound effects, and can hold almost 3 minutes worth of those! that's a lot, considering how little memory is required by most snares, toms, kicks, claps, congas, etc.

But it's not designed to play backing tracks, or hold a LOT of samples at one time. Those features are found in other units, and you also pay a LOT more for them.

Bermuda
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 12-17-2013, 04:30 PM
marcus marcus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

Ok, now I get it, I was not paying attention to RAM. very nice. Thank you kindly for responding so quickly Bermuda.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 12-30-2013, 03:09 PM
cvice cvice is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

Another question on the SamplePad. I have one, I've been using it in my gig setup over the past 6 months since I've had it and it's been great. Now I'd like to try using a trigger on my kick with it. Has anyone used this feature? I'm wondering if any particular trigger seems to work better than others. I've never used acoustic triggers before. I'm finding ddrum and Roland triggers online. There are ddrum triggers for about $39 and $69, and I'm wondering if the more expensive one works better? Any comments appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 09-30-2014, 06:50 AM
Elliot Elliot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 75
Default Re: Alesis Sample Pad

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvice View Post
Another question on the SamplePad. I have one, I've been using it in my gig setup over the past 6 months since I've had it and it's been great. Now I'd like to try using a trigger on my kick with it. Has anyone used this feature? I'm wondering if any particular trigger seems to work better than others. I've never used acoustic triggers before. I'm finding ddrum and Roland triggers online. There are ddrum triggers for about $39 and $69, and I'm wondering if the more expensive one works better? Any comments appreciated.
I just ordered a SamplePad and I have the same question. It seems like some of the triggers require a preamp to get them to the level needed. Anyone have experience using triggers on a samplepad?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com