DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-05-2013, 04:36 PM
skreg's Avatar
skreg skreg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 272
Default Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

I recently purchased a Ludwig Acrolite (a Supraphonic without the chrome) and I need to replace the snare wires. Has anybody experimented with different kinds? Any advice?

-sheldon
__________________
Visit my drum blog.
Visit my psychology blog.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2013, 04:24 AM
thunderstruck thunderstruck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 298
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

I use Gibraltar 20 strand wires on my Acrolite and get a nice crisp crack. I have tried Puresound Wires on it, and like the Gibraltar wires better. Experiment if you can. After all, it's all up to your ears.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2013, 05:35 AM
zarrdoss's Avatar
zarrdoss zarrdoss is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northern CO
Posts: 1,077
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

I have Puresound custom 24 strand on my limited Acrolite 14 x 6.5 and love the way it sounds.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2013, 07:10 AM
porter's Avatar
porter porter is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

Depends on what you want. I use Puresound Super 30 on every snare I've owned and it really seems made for me- the drum always sounds like a snare, with a bit more sensitivity to boot. If you want a big, open sound, you might want something more like their Custom Brass wires in a 20-strand.
__________________
Check out my Youtube channel!
I really like Guru Drums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2013, 05:25 PM
skreg's Avatar
skreg skreg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 272
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

Generally speaking, is there a way to describe the difference between more VS fewer wires?

-sheldon
__________________
Visit my drum blog.
Visit my psychology blog.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2013, 05:35 PM
opentune's Avatar
opentune opentune is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,420
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

Quote:
Originally Posted by skreg View Post
Generally speaking, is there a way to describe the difference between more VS fewer wires?

-sheldon
more snares - fatter, more sensitivity (although many factors affect that on a snare besides wires)

less wires - thinner, drier

but these are generalizations.

I have an old 5 x 14 Supra and went from 18 to 42 wires (but cut out 8, so 34 wires). I quite like the sound of many wires.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2013, 06:06 PM
MikeM's Avatar
MikeM MikeM is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,561
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

I use Puresound Blasters (20) on my Supra and like them. The more wires you have, the more the snare sound contributes to the overall sound. Snare wires like Puresounds already give a thicker more prominent snare sound than stock Ludwig wires, or others of similar, lighter, and less expensive design. I'd say that Puresound 20s are closer to cheaper 30s, and if you get Puresound 30s or 40s, you're going to be maxed out on snare response. You may even O.D. on it since the shell tone gets more and more buried under all that snare contribution - which is why some drummers like only 16s or less.
__________________
><Darwin> Current band.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2013, 08:05 PM
opentune's Avatar
opentune opentune is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,420
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeM View Post
I use Puresound Blasters (20) on my Supra and like them. The more wires you have, the more the snare sound contributes to the overall sound. Snare wires like Puresounds already give a thicker more prominent snare sound than stock Ludwig wires, or others of similar, lighter, and less expensive design. I'd say that Puresound 20s are closer to cheaper 30s, and if you get Puresound 30s or 40s, you're going to be maxed out on snare response. You may even O.D. on it since the shell tone gets more and more buried under all that snare contribution - which is why some drummers like only 16s or less.
Interesting how the metal on these wires can make such a difference. i've yet to try Puresounds but their snares must be made of different metal or coating to give the effect of more wires with less.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-07-2013, 11:49 PM
porter's Avatar
porter porter is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

Quote:
Originally Posted by opentune View Post
Interesting how the metal on these wires can make such a difference. i've yet to try Puresounds but their snares must be made of different metal or coating to give the effect of more wires with less.
Plus, they actually care about the wires, as opposed to most manufacturers who are just trying to buy the cheapest option that checks a box on "is this drum a snare yet?"
__________________
Check out my Youtube channel!
I really like Guru Drums.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-07-2013, 11:56 PM
gr82bagn's Avatar
gr82bagn gr82bagn is offline
Pioneer Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 418
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

I have a 40 strand Gibraltar on my Supra, it gives a great fat sound.
__________________
Master of My Domain
My Kit: Mapex MyDentity


Animal Life Savers
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-08-2013, 12:27 AM
Pocket-full-of-gold's Avatar
Pocket-full-of-gold Pocket-full-of-gold is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia.
Posts: 9,462
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

Quote:
Originally Posted by abapicaltaenia View Post
Plus, they actually care about the wires, as opposed to most manufacturers who are just trying to buy the cheapest option that checks a box on "is this drum a snare yet?"
But that said, after all these years I'm still yet to hear a Pearl, Ludwig, Gibraltar or other generic steel snare wire not make a snare sound when the drum is hit.

Not dissing the Puresounds, but I do think there's a danger that people make more of them than is actually warranted. Run of the mill, steel snare wires have worked just fine for a long time now......that didn't stop with the invention of an expensive coated copper snare wire.

I've never bought a Puresound (too damned expensive in this country), yet all my snare drums still sound distictly like snare drums.........especially my Supra's. :-)
__________________
What's the best cape for running away from a gig?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-08-2013, 01:06 AM
MikeM's Avatar
MikeM MikeM is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,561
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pocket-full-of-gold View Post
Not dissing the Puresounds, but I do think there's a danger that people make more of them than is actually warranted...

Run of the mill, steel snare wires have worked just fine for a long time now......
I agree. I had a DW Collector's maple snare that sounded better (to me) with run of the mill snare wires than with the stock DW wires (very similar to Puresounds).

More isn't always better, IMO, but I do like the Puresounds on my Supra and BB.

Note: Have I mentioned that I finally found the sweet spot on my BB and am over the moon with it? Turns out I like it tuned a lot differently than where I like the Supra tuned - I was trying to tune them to the exact same tension thinking what works for one should work for the other ... I guess not :-)
__________________
><Darwin> Current band.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-08-2013, 02:04 AM
KarlCrafton's Avatar
KarlCrafton KarlCrafton is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 4,394
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

I DO like the PureSound Custom 20 wires I have on the snares, but I always liked the cheap-o wires I had on all the snares too.
They do have a more dense sound than "Snappy" wires. When I want a change, I'll put the Ludwig, or generic wires I have saved (on a hook) back on.

The only thing I'm "snobby" about is I use cord, and I won't use a plastic strip, or anything else. It's cord for me.

I have a set of 42's (cheap-o's) on the 5" Acro. They have been on for years. I just liked the sound and left them on.
I did put a strip of tape that spans the very edge of the top the wires where they got into the plate. I did it for some reason way back, left it, and they sound good that way, so again, I left it haha!
__________________
Nobody makes me bleed my own blood. Nobody!!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-08-2013, 03:00 AM
opentune's Avatar
opentune opentune is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,420
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlCrafton View Post

The only thing I'm "snobby" about is I use cord, and I won't use a plastic strip, or anything else. It's cord for me.
What kind of cord? meant for snares or something else?
I prefer cord too.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-09-2013, 12:41 AM
KarlCrafton's Avatar
KarlCrafton KarlCrafton is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 4,394
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

The gold Ludwig cord is what I use. Very strong stuff.
__________________
Nobody makes me bleed my own blood. Nobody!!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-09-2013, 07:37 PM
rocket_man21 rocket_man21 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 93
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

They arent a super well known brand but i like there innovative ideas, FAT CAT snare wires, ive actually got the 24 strand dual tension on my very own Acrolite they sound great! You can find em on ebay for like 24 dollars they also have a 30 strand you can get which would work on the acrolite since there are no snare beds lol
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-10-2013, 04:43 AM
Soupy Soupy is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 987
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

The Acrolite absolutely has snare beds. Wide ones, at that.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-10-2013, 05:58 AM
B-squared's Avatar
B-squared B-squared is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 683
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soupy View Post
The Acrolite absolutely has snare beds. Wide ones, at that.
I have to admit, at first I also thought they didn't. They are hard to see, but they are there. The snare beds I remember were the ones my first drum teacher had on his ancient gut snare drum. He played in silent movie orchestras, so the snare beds I remember don't exist anymore.

More to the point of the thread, I like 20 wire snares on my Acro and my Supra. I tried a 42 wire Acro in a shop when I picked mine out and I didn't care for it quite as much. I agree that good cords are important if you want them to keep a nice crisp sound.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-10-2013, 05:50 PM
Trip McNealy's Avatar
Trip McNealy Trip McNealy is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 681
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

On my 14x5 Acrolite I have the original Ludwig 20-strand snares on it. Love the sound.

On my 14x6.5 Supra I have 42-strand Tama Snappy steel snares - with proper tuning my snare sounds exactly like John Bonham's. Very nice response and sound IMO.
__________________
I've been drumming for 35 years. I'm 34 years old.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-10-2013, 10:15 PM
Soupy Soupy is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 987
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

To add a little more detail, I was actually re-heading my Acrolite yesterday afternoon, and did stop to look at the snare bed profile. I didn't measure (since I hadn't seen this thread at that point), but based on memory I would say the bed was about 1/8 to 3/16" deep, and very wide, probably 9", give or take. So it has a very gradual, smooth taper in the bed, which does make the bed a little more subtle. An interesting comparison is visible in the thread in the Drums forum about the crimped snare beds on some Joyful Noise snares. Those looked narrow and deep, comparatively.

Also, FWIW, I've been using 42 strand Gibraltar wires on my Acro. I like the extra sizzle on this drum, and with the wide beds, it works well.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 01-27-2014, 02:47 AM
mauve mauve is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

I couldn't get a nice sensitive sound with my1967 Acrolite using Puresound wires.
As soon as I put just cheap gibraltar snares it came alive :)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-27-2014, 04:32 PM
Muckster's Avatar
Muckster Muckster is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: I'm right behind you.
Posts: 1,755
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

I just re-furbed my late 70's Acrolite and replaced the snares with a new set of Ludwig 20 snares with the cord. Sounds great.
__________________
Max Roach did it, Elvin Jones did it, but Roy Haynes didit and didit and didit.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-05-2014, 11:22 PM
Elliot Elliot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 64
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

I use 16-strand Puresound snares on my Acrolite. It works great for me because in lower volume settings I find the snare sound can overpower the drum shell sound.
Here's a link:
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/deta...FSISMwodlXQAiA
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-06-2014, 07:10 AM
Dre25's Avatar
Dre25 Dre25 is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,659
Default Re: Snare Wires for Ludwig Supraphonic or Acrolite

The stock ones are good. I have a 2012 black beauty and I put puresound ones on there and didn't really hear any difference.
__________________
Saturns

Quote:
Originally Posted by shemp View Post
look at me, look at me...look what I do
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com