DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-28-2013, 09:52 PM
AndrewH97 AndrewH97 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 15
Default Audio Interface for Recording Drums?

Hey, I've been researching a lot but I wanted to get an up-to-date opinion on what to get. I was going to wire in 7 XLR's and the guitar line ins for when my bassist and guitarist record as well into the UI and wanted to get each input on a separate track in my DAW (what will be Cubase). I just wanted to know what are the best Interfaces to handle all this and have the phantom power capable for the 2 condensers. My budget is to be under 250 but the cheapest would be best! What do you guys think I can get?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2013, 12:05 AM
BacteriumFendYoke's Avatar
BacteriumFendYoke BacteriumFendYoke is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kent, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,368
Default Re: Audio Interface for Recording Drums?

Afraid to say for that for 250, you're not going to find anything worth buying.

If your computer has FireWire, this is my recommendation, it's a little over-budget but worth it:

http://www.gak.co.uk/en/presonus-fir...o-project/5397

If it doesn't and it's a desktop tower, fitting it with a FireWire card shouldn't be too tricky (provided you have expansion space). Factor in around 20 extra for the FireWire card.
__________________
Bring Me Coffee or Tea
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2013, 01:33 AM
HerpsMcDerps's Avatar
HerpsMcDerps HerpsMcDerps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Odessa, Tx.
Posts: 36
Default Re: Audio Interface for Recording Drums?

I picked up an M-Audio Fast Track Ultra for about $150 on eBay in great condition. There are 4 mic/line inputs in the front along with 6 line ins on the back. Only issue is, to use the first four inputs on the back, you'll need a direct box to use them. You can still use two of the rear inputs (lololol) to record, which are 5 and 6, because you can either record the front four inputs or the back four at the same time without a direct box.

I love mine as it gets the job done with 2 overheads, a kick, and a snare mic. Although I'll eventually be upgrading to a Presonus USB Interface with 8 mic/line inputs. If I were you, I'd shell out the extra money for the Presonus Firetube if you have firewire capability, or the USB version if you don't, like myself.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2013, 03:31 AM
canada_rokzz's Avatar
canada_rokzz canada_rokzz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 194
Default Re: Audio Interface for Recording Drums?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BacteriumFendYoke View Post
Afraid to say for that for 250, you're not going to find anything worth buying.

If your computer has FireWire, this is my recommendation, it's a little over-budget but worth it:

http://www.gak.co.uk/en/presonus-fir...o-project/5397

If it doesn't and it's a desktop tower, fitting it with a FireWire card shouldn't be too tricky (provided you have expansion space). Factor in around 20 extra for the FireWire card.
+1

I have two of these, and they work great! It's nice to have two. A 4 piece band can lay bed tracks and have each input recorded!
__________________
PDP CX Maple
Sabian Cymbals
DW 5002 Pedals
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2013, 04:28 AM
wildbill wildbill is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Midwest - USA
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Audio Interface for Recording Drums?

A few people here have mentioned using this: http://www.gak.co.uk/en/tascam-us1800/43103
I don't have one, so can't vouch for it, but it sounds close to what you're looking for, within your budget.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2013, 07:36 AM
simmsdn simmsdn is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: North Pole, AK
Posts: 594
Default Re: Audio Interface for Recording Drums?

For what you want to do, get either the TASCAM 1800 or 2000 USB interface. I have the US-1641 (old version) and I have 8x XLR in (w/pre-amps), 2x direct-in/line-in (for guitar/bass), and 4x line-in (I have an external pre-amp going into these, so I have a total of 14x XLR inputs into my interface or combinations based on what I want to do).

Also has monitor out which I run into a headphone amp so up to 8 people can jam virtually soundless if that's what you want to do.

The US-1800 and US-2000 have the same inputs and go for about $300 (US).
__________________
Ludwig Drums; TaylorMade Golf Clubs
http://www.youtube.com/zombie13studio
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2013, 07:25 PM
drum4fun27302 drum4fun27302 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 541
Default Re: Audio Interface for Recording Drums?

I have a us1800 and the cheap cad mic set and 1 sm57 (on the snare). Us1800 comes with cubase le5 and love using it. Here are some samples
http://m.reverbnation.com/artist/francoisburnot

I am not an audio engineer and stuff. I followed some lessons on YouTube and went from there.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2013, 09:50 PM
x_25 x_25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northwest NJ
Posts: 80
Default Re: Audio Interface for Recording Drums?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simmsdn View Post
For what you want to do, get either the TASCAM 1800 or 2000 USB interface. I have the US-1641 (old version) and I have 8x XLR in (w/pre-amps), 2x direct-in/line-in (for guitar/bass), and 4x line-in (I have an external pre-amp going into these, so I have a total of 14x XLR inputs into my interface or combinations based on what I want to do).

Also has monitor out which I run into a headphone amp so up to 8 people can jam virtually soundless if that's what you want to do.

The US-1800 and US-2000 have the same inputs and go for about $300 (US).
Another 1641 owner here. I love mine, decent sound, cheep, it's been reliable and does everything I need. The only problem is, tascam makes sucky drivers. If you are using a windows PC ditch the stock drivers and use Asio4All, if you are on a mac, I have heard the drivers suck even harder.

The 1800 is the same as the 1641, but different styleing btw.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com