DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Other Gear

Other Gear Discuss Hardware and all other equipment not covered in the other topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-09-2012, 09:15 AM
badgerfromsaturn's Avatar
badgerfromsaturn badgerfromsaturn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chinatown
Posts: 51
Default If the board only has 1 channel for the drums?

What is the best way to get the drums all mic'd up if The sound board has only 1 channel available? I've got 3 toms, kick, snare, hat, 4 cymbals and wind chimes.

What is ideally the best setup and least complicated?

What should one watch out for when using this kind of rig?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2012, 09:18 AM
Bo Eder's Avatar
Bo Eder Bo Eder is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 11,098
Default Re: If the board only has 1 channel for the drums?

You would get your own mixing board, plug your mics into that and send one line out from your mixer to the one channel on the main mixing board. You get to learn another skill in the process!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2012, 09:29 AM
badgerfromsaturn's Avatar
badgerfromsaturn badgerfromsaturn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chinatown
Posts: 51
Default Re: If the board only has 1 channel for the drums?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Eder View Post
You would get your own mixing board, plug your mics into that and send one line out from your mixer to the one channel on the main mixing board. You get to learn another skill in the process!
Gracious seņor

Would headphones be the best way to balance before shouting back and forth with the sound gentleman?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2012, 04:04 PM
audiotech
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: If the board only has 1 channel for the drums?

Yes a sub mixer is your only choice. Sometimes it's very difficult to make a sound/mix evaluation when testing while wearing headphones on you're own kit, just too much leakage. Try working out the mix with the sound guy and watch your peak levels.

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2012, 07:38 PM
caddywumpus's Avatar
caddywumpus caddywumpus is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 5,580
Default Re: If the board only has 1 channel for the drums?

What soundboard is this, and how many members are in your band? What kind of venue are you playing? Sounds kinda sketchy to me. If you're playing a dive bar that has a 4-channel soundboard, I could understand, but 1 channel for the drums doesn't sound right. What's the situation?
__________________
Be vewwy quiet, I'm hunting Lawwy

My kit: http://drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44195
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2012, 08:02 PM
Bo Eder's Avatar
Bo Eder Bo Eder is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 11,098
Default Re: If the board only has 1 channel for the drums?

Quote:
Originally Posted by caddywumpus View Post
What soundboard is this, and how many members are in your band? What kind of venue are you playing? Sounds kinda sketchy to me. If you're playing a dive bar that has a 4-channel soundboard, I could understand, but 1 channel for the drums doesn't sound right. What's the situation?
Could be a band with one of those 6-input boards with five guys singing, leaving one channel. I had a console with 20-inputs (16 of them mic channels) and after a while it just felt like overkill to be carrying around the extra weight. My back is much happier now with a smaller board like the Mackie ProFX12.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2012, 09:08 PM
caddywumpus's Avatar
caddywumpus caddywumpus is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 5,580
Default Re: If the board only has 1 channel for the drums?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bo Eder View Post
Could be a band with one of those 6-input boards with five guys singing, leaving one channel. I had a console with 20-inputs (16 of them mic channels) and after a while it just felt like overkill to be carrying around the extra weight. My back is much happier now with a smaller board like the Mackie ProFX12.
We could spend all day going over the "could be" situations. Every band I've been in makes sure that we have adequate sound reinforcement, either provided by ourselves or the venue. This situation sounds like somebody has dropped the ball somewhere along the way, and now the drummer has to *make it work* for himself.

I'm wondering if this is for a one-time gig, or a permanent gigging situation, because I would give a different answer for each. Also, how big is the venue, what are the other instruments, etc...???
__________________
Be vewwy quiet, I'm hunting Lawwy

My kit: http://drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44195
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2012, 11:41 PM
B-squared's Avatar
B-squared B-squared is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 683
Default Re: If the board only has 1 channel for the drums?

In my band, I solved the same basic problem easily. I own the snake.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2012, 09:19 PM
canada_rokzz's Avatar
canada_rokzz canada_rokzz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 194
Default Re: If the board only has 1 channel for the drums?

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-squared View Post
In my band, I solved the same basic problem easily. I own the snake.
Same! I own the snake, the board, the compressors, gates, EQ,s, mains, monitors, mics, cables, stands... I just need to actually buy my bass bin and I am set!
__________________
PDP CX Maple
Sabian Cymbals
DW 5002 Pedals
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com