DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM

DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM (http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/index.php)
-   Electronic Drums (http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Roland TD-20 sound issue (http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=115401)

RolandDrummer 03-21-2014 05:46 PM

Roland TD-20 sound issue
 
I am having the hardest time trying to get my TD-20 working after setting it back up after a while. The first few weeks I had it set up everything was working fine. I put together a few kits to mess around with and it was going good. Then all of a sudden my snare on the drums has been making very annoying sound. It is happening on all the kits, just on the snare drum though. I looked through all the effects, all the EQ's, even reset the snare drums back to default, but nothing works. The sound can be described kind of like a flanger or similar, but all effects and EQs were disabled.

Although, I did try a new cord to go from the trigger to AUX4 in the module and set up another snare on the AUX channel, and the sound was not present. Although I will be using all 4 aux channels for other triggers so I need to get this figured out. I recorded the sound it is making on audacity to show here. Quality isn't the best but the sound is very evident. Please help me!

http://tindeck.com/image/pcsy/stats.png

bermuda 03-21-2014 08:19 PM

Re: Roland TD-20 sound issue
 
Probably a good question for the guys at www.vdrums.com

rmandelbaum 03-22-2014 05:25 PM

Re: Roland TD-20 sound issue
 
Is it making that noise if you just use headphones into the brain?
If so then i would do a factory reset on the brain.

If not i would suspect cables, inputs, levels, and maybe even a plugin in audacity.

RolandDrummer 03-23-2014 05:01 PM

Re: Roland TD-20 sound issue
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rmandelbaum (Post 1243347)
Is it making that noise if you just use headphones into the brain?
If so then i would do a factory reset on the brain.

If not i would suspect cables, inputs, levels, and maybe even a plugin in audacity.

The sound is present in headphone output as well as master output. I will be trying the direct snare output as well tonight.

rmandelbaum 03-23-2014 05:29 PM

Re: Roland TD-20 sound issue
 
I would also make sure you have the latest update from Roland installed.

flurbs 03-24-2014 11:19 AM

Re: Roland TD-20 sound issue
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RolandDrummer (Post 1243033)
I am having the hardest time trying to get my TD-20 working after setting it back up after a while. The first few weeks I had it set up everything was working fine. I put together a few kits to mess around with and it was going good. Then all of a sudden my snare on the drums has been making very annoying sound. It is happening on all the kits, just on the snare drum though. I looked through all the effects, all the EQ's, even reset the snare drums back to default, but nothing works. The sound can be described kind of like a flanger or similar, but all effects and EQs were disabled.

Although, I did try a new cord to go from the trigger to AUX4 in the module and set up another snare on the AUX channel, and the sound was not present. Although I will be using all 4 aux channels for other triggers so I need to get this figured out. I recorded the sound it is making on audacity to show here. Quality isn't the best but the sound is very evident. Please help me!

http://tindeck.com/image/pcsy/stats.png

It sounds like you have a trigger problem - this 'flanging' sound can happen when the module reads two triggers very close to each other, and fires two of the same sound at almost (but not quite) the same time, the 'flanging' is due to the signal phases clashing.

Check your trigger settings for the pad, you may have accidentally reduced your scan-time and your mask-time, each should be 2ms or above for a larger mesh pad. If the problem can't be fixed with adjustment of the trigger parameters then the piezo in the pad may have developed a fault. Try using one of the floor tom pads in the snare drum input to see if the problem is arising in the pad or in the module. A faulty piezo should be a pretty easy fix but contact the Roland service dept in your country to find out more for servicing/repair/replace info.

rmandelbaum 03-24-2014 04:13 PM

Re: Roland TD-20 sound issue
 
Also check that the cable is plugged in all the way at the pad, this will cause wierd things to happen

RolandDrummer 03-25-2014 06:06 AM

Re: Roland TD-20 sound issue
 
It couldn't be the trigger, as it worked perfectly fine set up as a snare when I had it in AUX4. The threshold was also not changed. I finally bit the bullet and did a full factory reset even though I couldn't save all my kits, but it appears to have fixed the problem. Now I just need to find somebody who has shared their kit setup so I can have a good starting point.

I will also be using this kit for live performances with the band I am in, but I heard it can be a nightmare setting up venue to venue. I guess only time will tell.

Thank you guys for the knowledgeable advice!

drumming sort of person 03-25-2014 10:30 PM

Re: Roland TD-20 sound issue
 
My advice is to use acoustic drums in a live setting.

mrspiffyca 03-25-2014 10:43 PM

Re: Roland TD-20 sound issue
 
I would just get some Vex packs from VExpressions, the TD20 packs are on reduced prices. You can't go wrong with those guys.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RolandDrummer (Post 1244220)
It couldn't be the trigger, as it worked perfectly fine set up as a snare when I had it in AUX4. The threshold was also not changed. I finally bit the bullet and did a full factory reset even though I couldn't save all my kits, but it appears to have fixed the problem. Now I just need to find somebody who has shared their kit setup so I can have a good starting point.

I will also be using this kit for live performances with the band I am in, but I heard it can be a nightmare setting up venue to venue. I guess only time will tell.

Thank you guys for the knowledgeable advice!


RolandDrummer 03-29-2014 04:11 AM

Re: Roland TD-20 sound issue
 
Thank you for recommending Vexpressions! Some nice sounding kits on there, I will def. give them a try. And as far as acoustic drums for live go, I am limited to my Edrums due to the music we play (has some electronic drums in the setlist) and I would rather not have to set up a Neil Peart style kit hahaha. I read online these kits are usable live, but they require tweaks between venues


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com