DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM

DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM (http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/index.php)
-   Electronic Drums (http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility (http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=105494)

synergy 03-25-2013 07:05 PM

Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility
 
I just got hold of a used Yamaha DTxplorer and just had a couple of questions concerning forward and backward compatibilities.

I know over time things stop working etc so I wondered if the module dies on me would I be able to pick up a newer model module and would my original pads work ok?

and the flip side of that- if I have pad issues, will buying new pads work well with the older module?

I'm not looking to try to get 3zone triggering out a moduel that can only handle 1 etc- just want to know if Yamaha make their gear so that they can trigger or be triggered by newer equipment

thanks

Reggae_Mangle 03-25-2013 10:50 PM

Re: Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility
 
The DTXplorer line has now been replaced. That said, some of the pads used on the newer lines can be used on them, while others can't. There should be a compatibility chart on Yamaha's website. Or just contact customer support if you want to be double sure.

- Reggae Mangle

scorch whammin 03-26-2013 01:48 AM

Re: Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility
 
You should be okay staying within the brand...the only new pads that may not trigger as well with your module would be the new TCS (textured cellular silicone) pads from Yamaha, and even they would probably work out ok if you increased the gain in your module....

synergy 03-26-2013 05:27 PM

Re: Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility
 
thanks guys, I understand the Xplorer's brain is limited etc- wasnt thinking I could piece together a $3000 kit from a 5 year old brain etc...

Just wanted to see if anything goes wrong I could just buy new or if I would need to dive into ebay/cl etc to find misc parts

Thanks for the info- might have to contact Yamaha and get more detailed info from the 'horses mouth'

Defender 03-27-2013 07:35 AM

Re: Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility
 
Just to add, Yamaha's Customer Service is freakin top notch! I know from personal experience.

wildbill 03-29-2013 01:36 AM

Re: Yamaha DTxplorer compatibility
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by synergy (Post 1122443)

....I'm not looking to try to get 3zone triggering out a moduel that can only handle 1 etc- just want to know if Yamaha make their gear so that they can trigger or be triggered by newer equipment...


I think that's probably the biggest issue - the number of triggers some inputs will accept, and the number of triggered zones on a pad.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com