DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM

DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM (http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/index.php)
-   Electronic Drums (http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   V-Drums kit without the module for use with Studio Drummer? (http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=104385)

NBarnes21 02-11-2013 10:52 PM

V-Drums kit without the module for use with Studio Drummer?
 
Hey all,

I'm wanting to invest in a nice set of V-Drums pads to be able to use with Studio Drummer via MIDI. I don't need the full on expensive module with the sound banks and mixer as I'll be getting all my sounds from Studio Drummer. I do however need something to connect all the triggers/pads to so I can then go into my computer via my RME Babyface's MIDI in/out. What are my options here?

The only kits I see online include the module (which comprises a fair amount of the total cost), and buying individual pads seems to cost almost as much as buying the full kit with module. I just need kick, snare, 2 toms, hat, ride, and a crash or two. I do really prefer the feel and accuracy of the V-Drums pads, but would also be open to other models/brands. Any suggestions?

rmandelbaum 02-11-2013 11:04 PM

Re: V-Drums kit without the module for use with Studio Drummer?
 
I would look into a used older roland kit, you can get the pads your after with a brian that has MIDI for a lot less than something new. I would think that TD 10 kits should be way down in price since there is the 20 and 30 out.

Alesis makes a usb kit that uses your computer as the brain, might. Look at that as well

toddmc 02-12-2013 04:45 AM

Re: V-Drums kit without the module for use with Studio Drummer?
 
I've seen racks, modules and pads (either singles or combos) on sale by themselves but don't think I've ever seen a 2nd hand e-kit for sale with the entire kit ready to go minus the module (and yes, buying everything individually would be prohibitively expensive).
Cheapest, used TD-10 kit you can find might be the way to go as suggested (you can always sell the TD-10 module and at least get some money back).

NBarnes21 02-12-2013 02:54 PM

Re: V-Drums kit without the module for use with Studio Drummer?
 
Thanks, that's helpful info y'all. I found this Aleisis interface, its pretty cheap ($150 ish):


http://www.alesis.com/triggerio

I'm thinking ill buy a used v drums kit and sell the module separately afterward, and get the Alesis to run into my interface. Should work in theory right?

toddmc 02-12-2013 10:26 PM

Re: V-Drums kit without the module for use with Studio Drummer?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NBarnes21 (Post 1110283)
Thanks, that's helpful info y'all. I found this Aleisis interface, its pretty cheap ($150 ish):


http://www.alesis.com/triggerio

I'm thinking ill buy a used v drums kit and sell the module separately afterward, and get the Alesis to run into my interface. Should work in theory right?

I would say so. As long as you won't need more than 10 inputs in the future, should serve you well!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com