DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM

DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM (http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cymbals (http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Looking for new cymbals, Help please! (http://www.drummerworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=107463)

Deco_1 06-03-2013 10:16 AM

Looking for new cymbals, Help please!

i have been drumming for 6 years now and i play mainly Rock, Punk and funk. I have finally decided i cannot deal with my cymbals and so i am mainly looking at crashes and hihats.( i can deal with the sound of my ride)

I currently have a four cymbal setup being Planet Z 14" hihats, 16" crash and a 20" ride, i also have another unmarked 16" crash which i like the sound of and am not looking to replace.

I play quite hard but over the whole amount of time, i have only dented my crash and cracked a hihat i once used as a crash (so doesn't really count)

I have been looking at an 18" A custom projection crash, which i have played and really like which i can obtain secondhand from between $150-200. but i have been looking around and i have seen a 16" Z custom crash for a similar price. can anyone compare or give me some other ideas.

I have been suggested Paiste Rudes and Alphas, can anyone give me some information on the Alpha 'Boomers'? as Rudes will set me back more then i wish to spend price-wise.

i don't like the 14" A custom projection hats so i don't see the point buying a projection set. can anyone suggest anything?

BrandonXD 06-03-2013 11:21 PM

Re: Looking for new cymbals, Help please!

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deco_1 (Post 1146600)
i have been drumming for 6 years now and i play mainly Rock, Punk and funk. I have finally decided i cannot deal with my cymbals and so i am mainly looking at crashes and hihats.( i can deal with the sound of my ride)