Newbie looking for advice!!!

Only1parksey

Hey all, firstly I apologise if I'm travelling over new ground here!! I'm an absolute beginner with no experience other than a few lessons and I'm looking at buying a decent electronic drum kit on a minimum budget for now. I am currently learning on a Yamaha DTX500 and seems ok to me (remember it's the only drum kit I have hit) and was wondering if I would be better looking for one of those of a better 2nd hand kit. I have found a dtx500 for sale on ebay for quite a decent price and was hoping for some advice before I bid. Nothing too technical please guys as it may go way over my head lol. Thanks in advance!!

The DTX 500 is a decent starter kit, although the limitations are a tom pad for a hi-hat instead of a cymbal pad. and all the cymbals are single zone and those little tiny trapezoid things.

If you can afford it, I would definitely suggest grabbing up the 520. Trust me, the DTX snare is quite the nice pad and if you're just learning to play you'll want the DTX snare to practice your left and right hand technique. It really makes practicing the snare something fun.

And if you want something that feels the best next to an acoustic kit, stay as far away from the Roland Mesh pads as humanly possible. They are WAY WAY to bouncy.

This is just one guy's personal opinion.

Peace, Defender

And if you want something that feels the best next to an acoustic kit, stay as far away from the Roland Mesh pads as humanly possible. They are WAY WAY to bouncy.

I have a roland td12, which has mesh heads, and they are definitely very bouncy, but i enjoy playing them, and I mean are they really any further from an acoustic than any other electronic drums? probably not. They have nice sounds/samples and I can play almost as long as I want because the noise doesn't distract anyone.