Can anyone recommend me some funk music?

?uesto

Silver Member
I'm a bit new to the genre, but for the past 4-5 months I've fallen in love with funk music. I listen to Galactic, (and constituents), Dumpstaphunk, Lettuce, Soulive, and then some older stuff, (Tower of Power, James Brown, P-Funk, & The Meters), and even some Fusion/Funk, like Rudder, Phish, and Weather Report. I know it's all very different, but any music recommendations would be awesome.

Sly and the Family Stone (the originators of funk)
Curtis Mayfield (did the Superfly soundtrack, need not say anymore)
Fela Kuti (has a very gritty, 70's New York, grainy film, hustlin' blue magic on 116th St. sound)
Barry White
Bobby Womack
Syl(vester) Johnson (he went by Syl from what I've read)
The Commodores

Sly and the Family Stone (the originators of funk)
Curtis Mayfield (did the Superfly soundtrack, need not say anymore)
Fela Kuti (has a very gritty, 70's New York, grainy film, hustlin' blue magic on 116th St. sound)
Barry White
Bobby Womack
Syl(vester) Johnson (he went by Syl from what I've read)
The Commodores

Barry White before he turned disco, right? Or am I confused with someone else?

Barry White before he turned disco, right? Or am I confused with someone else?

Oh yeah. *smacks my head* I blame disco on cocaine. Oddly enough I've heard some really early disco (or what could be classified as disco) from about 73' - 75' and it was actually respectable, and then it started making money. And like everything that has money thrown at it, it becomes very watered down and formulaic.

You reminded me that I've been meaning to try and get into funk more... I really enjoyed that chapter in groove essentials, and I've always had a passing interest in it... So I just went to Pandora and got started... I added The Meters to one of my channels and I'm digging it so far ("Opeth+Tool+The Meters" ... that's not too weird is it?)