DW guys in here ( your bass drum)

Mathew 7:21

What are you guys using for heads? Do you use the pillow that came with it? Im having a hard time getting a good sound out of this drum (26"). Ive been playing for about 31 years and the bass drum I thought was the easiest to tune but this drum is driving me mad. This is my second DW kit, the first one I had a 18x20 and it was a cake walk compared to this beast. I almost always had 24"s in birch. Man Im thinking that Im just not a maple guy.....I think birch is my wood......that fat wet sound! Help!

For my 22" I run it close to stock, although I will go with a solid DW logo head or a 4" ported DW logo head. I am not a fan of the DW "Vented" logo head because I think it's a bad compromise - you don't get the sound of a solid head, and you don't get the ease-of-micing options that you get with a standard ported head.
I usually keep the pillow in; I've used powerstroke 3's and Superkicks on the 22" and I'm happy either way.

I'm also using a 28" - I struggled with it for a while and the key was to crank it up higher than I thought. And while that drum is huge, it's not like you're sitting in a subwoofer or something. The sound and feel is different - definitely big, but remember that the sound for a drum that big (and even a 26) requires some space to develop, so being right on top of it may not be exactly what you expect.

On my 22" I am running a clear Emad 2 with the small foam ring. I run the stock DW logo Ambassador head with a 6" porthole in about the 9 oclock area.

I don't have any muffling inside the drum at all. It sounds real nice.

I play a DW kit at church (22") also that has the DW stock head on front with the little holes, but it also has a 4" porthole at the 4 oclock position.

It has an Aquarian SK2 with the DW dogbone pillow in it. It sounds a little better than mine. It has more thump and less tone than mine does.

Both drums sound great!

Good luck tuning yours!