Too many fingers in left hand???

blinky

Hi fellow drummers,
I've been working on hand technique for two years now, (drumset player for 42 years) and like lots of other drummers I have difficulties with my left hand. I have a good teacher, I have read most threads on the subject, but can't find anything that helps me. So here I go. The problem is the grip I think, wrist is loose enough, but my grip don't feel natural, sometimes too loose and sometimes too tight almost cramped, ring and pinkie is worst. And it feels like I have too many fingers fighting over the same space, forcing me to constantly changing my grip slightly which in turn makes it even more difficult to relax my hand. I practice the freestroke everyday, always tight from the start of each practice session but eventually loosening up after maybe 5 minutes or so. I also play slow 8 on a hand, 100-120 bpm, trying to get my left hand to copy my right and get a bouncy relaxed feel. In other areas I'm working my left hand as much as I can , computer mouse , opening doors etc. Never ever getting much better even after all those hours of deliberate practice. This is starting to wear on me, any help would be much appreciated.

Would you mind showing us a video of your left hand doing some freestrokes, some rudiments, and then some freeplaying on the pad? It's easier to dissect the problem visually.

Well, I have never made a video, but I can try, but you would probably not see anything that my teacher wouldn't have seen. It's more how it feels than how it looks.

Are your shoulders relaxed when you play? What about your jaw? And is your posture comfortable? Have you tried doing some breathing/relaxation/meditation exercises before you practice? If you've tried many remedies to solve the tension in your hand but nothing's worked, then it might not be your hand that's the source of your problem.

My left is the same. You aren't alone. Here's what I do to help;