Noobie cowbell question...

MaryO

Platinum Member
So I just received not one, but two cowbells as gifts for Christmas. One is 5" long the other is 8". Here's my question, where's the best place on kit to mount a cowbell? I have a simple kit with my snare, 2 toms, a floor tom, bass drum, 14" high hats and one 20" crash/ride.

I know it's often set to where you are most comfortable with them but since I've no experience with one on my kit I was just wondering where the most common location would be.

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I would appreciate your help.

Thanks!

As with everything.....where ever it's most comfortable and withing easy reach. I've flown 'em off a cymbal stand to my right before, but I've also had one flying off the hat stand between it and the high tom. You'll need a clamp and cow bell mount to do this.

Another popular place is off the top of the bass drum hoop directly above your knee. You can buy clamps that are specifically desgined to mount them there as well.

As with everything.....where ever it's most comfortable and withing easy reach. I've flown 'em off a cymbal stand to my right before, but I've also had one flying off the hat stand between it and the high tom. You'll need a clamp and cow bell mount to do this.

Another popular place is off the top of the bass drum hoop directly above your knee. You can buy clamps that are specifically desgined to mount them there as well.

Ladies and gentlemen, P-FOG for the WIN!!!

Whenever I play accessories with the kit, like for a musical, I'll mount them to the left of my high tom, above the hats, but below the left crash, but that's when I'm playing jam blocks and other effects. When I play cowbell for Latin gigs, it is usually mounted with a bass drum clip. That's a good location to be able to play all over the cowbell--when you play rhythms where you need to get, like, 3 different sounds out of a single cowbell.

I place mine, along with a wood block between my two mounted toms.