Snare issue

Royston

Hi Guys,
Fitting some new heads today, (once again I will add in a post that I am a beginner), and cant seem to get the snare right. I should add here that I was tuning and when tuning the reso side I removed the snare to stop any interference, however having never installed a snare wire correctly I'm not sure if I have re installed correctly as I just cant quite seem to get the wires to sound "right". Naturally there is no problem with the snare off....

Any advice appreciated.
Thanks
Roy

Ultimately, make sure the snares are straight and centered on the head.

Other than confirming that, try tightening the reso head, maybe even much tighter than you would expect. Sometimes, the snares suddenly come alive after cranking the reso. Also, once you tighten the reso, then adjust the tension of the snares up, and slowly loosen them until they respond the way you want.

Ultimately, make sure the snares are straight and centered on the head.

Other than confirming that, try tightening the reso head, maybe even much tighter than you would expect. Sometimes, the snares suddenly come alive after cranking the reso. Also, once you tighten the reso, then adjust the tension of the snares up, and slowly loosen them until they respond the way you want.
Hey thanks for responding. What I seem to be getting is a little bit of resonance from the snre wires after the strike, having never done this before I hadnt appreciated just how fine the adjustment might be. I dont seem able to get that snare "crack" without the wire resonance if you know what I mean.....i will keep trying with adjusting the tension screw as you seem to suggest.
Thanks again
Roy

Sounds like you might need to crank the snare side head even tighter. Crank that baby and listen to it crack! Crank it tighter than you would think, then crank it some more.