new drummer playing with experienced

sublimeaces

hows it going everyone.

i just started playing drums about a year ago, It's all recreational hobby for me. I do not want to be in a band just yet, just playing drums for fun.

with that being said I had a question. I play drums with my dad alot who is incredible at jazz and funk as well as rock. He played with a lot of greats in jazz his time and had some records with his own band. (rock) i am not bragging, but i did pick up on drums very quickly. no doubt from hearing him play all these years.

And although he is an awesome drummer he is a horrible teacher. Do you think that could hinder my learning? because ill be working on the basics and he always goes off into some advanced version of the beat with lots of short rolls. I hear it and it sounds so good that i can''t see myself playing it. Especially when he plays Funk. I hear it in my head and I feel it but if i try and play it cover your ears!

sorry for the long post. basically do you guys think it would be harder to learn from someone very advanced just because you'll try to sound like them and can't do it which makes you think you don't sound good.

you said it yourself he is a horrible teacher. go find another teacher and stop trying to learn from him. some people can teach, others cant.

you may also want to try a different approach with him. tell him to show you a beat without showing off so you can get the beat down first.

Your dad undoubtedly just wants to help but it can be smothering. I knew a kid whose dad interfered so much that he lost interest in playing. Maybe ask your dad to think back to when
he was starting and the time and space he had to work things out, play, have fun, experiment etc. There's a balance between his helping you but not pushing you to fast. He probably is just