Self promotion vs self aggrandizement-a fine line?

Jeremy Bender

Platinum Member
What is the boundary between the two?
Is it in the perception of the receiver or our own conscience (assuming you that have one).

They're kinda the same thing aren't they?

This is something I battle with every day. As a professional artist with a proper business and store-front I think about how to get my stuff out there everyday. And I have found that I am not very good at it at all. I think the reason is is that I feel kinda stupid tooting my own horn. I like to think that my work speaks for itself...whether artwork or drumming....but I'm not convinced at this time.

I'm pretty sure that it is 'to each his own', scruples and all of that. I think I was raised to be humble, which may have translated further than it was supposed to....I don't know.

It appears that the folks that have the ability to 'talk the talk' have more clout that those who do not, whether the talent and ability is there or not.

A person can be good at networking, making connections and closing deals while still being humble about it. A person has to self-promote to some extent or another to earn a living no matter what he or she does. Of course, musicians have to do it to an even greater extent in most cases, but it wasn't always like that, as many of you old-timers here may well know.

That being said, I think many musicians are narcissists.

It's all n how you do it, i agree with the above post. I have been self employed or involved in a sales type role for well over 30 years. You are selling yourself, just convey you bring something of value to the table while just being yourself and you will be fine.

I also find with most musicians, the ones that tell you how great they are normally are not.

What is the boundary between the two?
Is it in the perception of the receiver or our own conscience (assuming you that have one).