Tom Tuning Issue

Sopranos

Hi Folks!

So I recently purchased a couple sets of new heads (I have Vintage Emp and Evans G2).... both of which will be new to me after using EC2 over Ambassadors. I just found the EC2's to be a little too muffled and dead sounding.

I have started with the Vintage Emp's and since I was going to have to tune anyway I also tuned/tightened the reso Ambassadors (which I did not replace the reso's)... about 9 months old. To my surprise, they sound even more dead and don't sing like I heard them in the store on my exact kit. I'm wondering if tightening the reso head just a hair had this affect and if I should go with a looser or even new reso's. Instead of singing they just die out.

For what its worth, I have a Pearl Masters MCX (6ply all maple) w/ virgin kick. I used the assistance of a drum dial and I am in the neighborhood of 75-78 on batter and 80 on reso. I have used Bob Gatzens techniques and read all his stuff... I think for the most part I have them in tune but they don't resonate/sing quite long enough.... they dont sound very full. I want a little more sustain and tone from them. I know these heads sound good on my kit but I think I am off a bit in tuning.

Any help or suggestions? Thanks in advance!!

Last edited:
I haven't used that head combo but many will say to put the batter and reso at the same setting. Try them both at 75 then both at 80 and see. 80 seems high but it's all in the ear.

I would say try cranking those resos up to 85-90. Experiment around with each drum. You will go through phases where the resos are in harmonic thirds with the batters and you will get a fantastic sound - much like studio sounds.

I have Emperors on mine, and while I don't have a tuner, keep my reso G-Pluses cranked a full turn and a half tighter. It sounds excellent - beautiful round sound and need no muffling for excessive ring!