you guys are great.

NUTHA JASON

Senior Administrator
i run a studio in the south west of london and i play in the circuit as well as several festivals and battle of the bands - so i get to meet a lot of local drummers. also as a teacher and inspector i get to meet a lot of drum teachers - and talk shop.

over the last few months the impression i'm getting of local drummers is not good.

it astonishes me how few of them know about things like:
- the stick control book
- who steve gadd or gavin harrison are
- what the open close technique or moeller technique are
- how to tune a kit
- who clyde stubblefield, jabo or zigaboo are.
- youtube has loads of good stuff
- drummerworld exsists
- that drummers actually have magazines.

i mean come on! Some of them are proud that they never practice.

if you are on this forum, it is because you actually want to learn and share good drum knowledge. There are far more drummers out there than there are visitors to all the forums i visit. it seems that a lot of them are basically clueless and don't care.
j

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
I think that this awareness on your part just speaks for where music is today. No respect for the past masters or the history, and just wanting the short cuts to money and fame. IMO the reason that most newer music is crap. I watched the History Channel yesterday on the history of the electric guitar and was very interested in the development. Not because I play or will ever play but simply because it's part of music.

Midnite Zephyr

Platinum Member
A year ago I would have been that drummer that you speak of. Who is Steve Gadd? I don't know. Should I care?

I think I've got all this info now just from reading this website, but at some point it all becomes repetitive. So you probably won't be seeing much of me around here anymore. Peace.

eclipseownzu

Gold Member