Wow, Neil Peart kinda sucks...

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Because this has been discussed before and I won't enter the debate on drummer merit, I did see an article or interview where Neil admitted he was out of his comfort zone. I will leave it at that.

P

plangentmusic

Actually, that's when I discovered Rush for the first time too. Both A Farewell to Kings and Hemispheres had the cleanest drum sounds I'd ever heard. Up until I saw their movie I didn't know they were always trying to get everything tracked in one take, until they ran up against La Villa Strangiato when they admitted they recorded it in three sections! All that stuff they've recorded prior to that was done in one take? Incredible!

I was doing a recording of YYZ (playing all the parts) and realized there are quite a few spices along the way. As a producer I'm forgiving of that for no other reason other than sometimes, it's just a matter of getting it done and saving time. Obviously, once it's recorded and played 100 times, it's not as much of an issue performing it live.

I had to abort my version of YYZ because, even though I got the parts down, the feel just wasn't feeling organic. (Due to playing the parts separately -- even though that works 90% of the time).

Oddly enough, it's recorded to a click, so you'd think everything would lock in, but that's the difference between a band that works together as a band and a group like Steely Dan who use a patchwork approach.

Mad About Drums

Pollyanna's Agent
Well, Cathy Rich had certainely seen something into Neil Peart's views on drumming for the project tribute for her father.

Here's a couple vids where Cathy and especially Neil talk about this project.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfO9NHIH7MY&feature=related

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EixIG760Xv8&feature=relmfu

Come on, give the man a break...He might suck but he is a wealthy drummer.

Enjoy this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KlnS-ViVte0&feature=related