Which cymbals are better?

Lead

I have heard that Sabian AAX's are comparable to Zildjian's A custom cymbals. I use Sabian AAX and love the bright quick response, they project.

Frank

Gold Member
> my Sabian XS20's

Good pick. Pound for pound, I think these are the best bargains in cymbals today.
Significantly less than AAs, at very, very good, legit tone.

If they made Thins of XS20s, I'd own more. I think they avoid Thins in a line like this so that they don't have to deal with warranty replacements after a crack. [I don't crack cymbals, so it wouldn't be a concern.]

None of my cymbals I have right now are oof the same brand. I've been playing drums for 4 years and abit, I use a mix of Zildjian, Agean and Sabian. When I first started playing I had Paiste 101's (Still have them on my other kit).

It took me YEARS to find that ride that has a sweet spot and then you crash it and it sounds like a Gong. And that was a Zildjian A Sweet Ride, then I was like "That growling cymbal"
I looked at both, Sabian O-Zones and Zildjian EFX's, then Meinl Soundcaster Trash Crashes came in and I was buffled on what one I wanted. found the Zildjian A Custom EFX to be the harsher cymbal, the sound I wanted and took that. I could've got really good Hi-hats, I used to use Agean Karia Series (Which are like K Hybrids at a cheaper price, also hand hammered) they cracked, and I looked at Sabian XS20 hi-hats, sure, cheapest Cast cymbals in the range, but they have a John Bonham sound and when I mount my Hat-trick it sounds like any John Bonham song.

Loads of people use cheaper cymbals for the sound they want, may be REALLY cheap, but it may be the sound you want (my Sabian XS20's) :)

What to do is try EVERY cymbal in that store, find the right sound you want, THEN cash them out, take people's suggestions, but don't buy the cymbal because someone else loves it

Otto

Platinum Member
I find WIDE variation between cymbals of the same manufact./model/size