What Reggae Rhythm?

romicsteve

I've been asked to play Johnny Nash's "There Are More Questions Than Answers" (
) in church next Sunday. I'm primarily a jazz drummer, so my ear is not tuned very well to reggae. What reggae rhythm would you suggest to accompany this song?

Hollywood Jim

Platinum Member
I love playing drums to a reggae groove.

Here is something I learned about drumming to reggae music.
A few years ago the band I was in wanted to play a reggae tune. Well, the bass player was not playing the correct bass line. And more importantly the guitar player was not doing the chicka chicka chicka on the upbeats. So no matter what I played on the drums, the song did not sound like a reggae song.
The reggae drum beat is pretty simple. Usually a snare hit or a cross stick on the 3 or for faster reggae on the 2 and 4. Kind of a Latin feel to it.
But if the bass player and guitar player are not playing a reggae groove then no matter what you play on the drums it will never sound like a reggae song.
Listen to some reggae songs on YouTube. Play along with the songs. You'll get it. It's fairly simple.

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
I don't hear the one drop rhythm.

I feel it as...1 and 2 and 3 and 4 and...with the rimclick on 2 and 4, and the kick on 1 and 3. A money beat variation. Except for the reggae hi hat phrasing and the cross stick tone, the kick and the snare is a slowed down Billie Jean. I understand one drop to be just what it says, the one isn't played. I'm open for correction there.

Listen to the bass guitar part. It's a regular feel, meaning the 1 is definitely there, with your rimclick on 2 and 4. That's the basic groove, not including any embellishments. The closed hi hat does the 2 - 16th notes "and a" reggae pattern every quarter note, and there can and should be (if you're comfy doing so) interplay between the kick snare and hat, but the basic groove I hear (not counting the hi hat) is a slowed down "Billie Jean"